On the Spot Jambalaya

Even a regular meal planner can have his plans go awry. I am a very regular meal planner for the week’s meals. The other week, I had a nice meal planned and when I got home from work to make it, I realized I had neglected to purchase several critical ingredients. What’s a cook to do? Order in? Go get the ingredients? Not me, I improvised.

I took a quick look to see what I had on hand that was not already committed to a future dinner that week and decided to make jambalaya. This was not entirely from scratch as we had a box of jambalaya mix (which is really just rice and a few Cajun spices). Add some chopped ham, tomatoes, a pepper, onion, and some great tasting shrimp and you have yourself a meal!

A quick and satisfying dinner.

Yes, I used the mix because I had it on hand. You can easily just make up some rice and add some Cajun seasonings.

I made the box according to directions. While the rice was cooking, I diced the pepper and onion and gave them a saute in a little oil. I then added the tomatoes, ham and shrimp. The shrimp cooked in the sauce and when the rice was done, I mixed it all together with a little Tabasco. Great eating!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Cajun, Fried, Main Dish, Pork, Recipes, Seafood, Vegetable

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

14 Comments on “On the Spot Jambalaya”

  1. June 10, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    Love jambalaya. It’s a great go to, one pot meal around here. Thanks!

    Like

  2. June 10, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    Great ‘instant’ supper dish.

    Like

  3. June 10, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    Great ingenuity! We’ve all had plans go awry, it’s all in what you do with it.

    Like

  4. June 10, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    Clever idea with delicious results. I bet the leftovers were good, too!

    Like

  5. Chuck
    June 10, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    Absolutely! I am not above using a box of Zatarain’s myself! If you’ve got some cooked animal protein (chicken, pork, beef) in the fridge, it works great for a quick, filling and tasty meal. It also takes care of some left overs! LOL

    Like

  6. June 10, 2012 at 1:54 pm #

    Sounds great. I use the boxed stuff and add onions, green peppers, fresh tomatoes and sliced Polish sausage to it plus some extra cheese. One pot meals rule.

    Like

  7. June 10, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

    Sometimes a packaged mix is not all that bad. A Louisiana friend introduced me to a gumbo starter that is a real time saver and quite tasty. Jambalaya is next.

    Like

  8. rachelocal
    June 10, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    I love Zatarain’s jambayla mix! Add some spicy kielbasa and dinner is served. Sadly I cannot eat it on my locavore diet. 😦

    Like

  9. The Rowdy Chowgirl
    June 10, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    Looks pretty good for a last minute improv meal!

    Like

  10. GSG
    June 10, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    Spicy sausage instead of Ham works well too…

    Like

  11. baconbiscuit212
    June 11, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    That happens to me too. Good job improvising!

    Like

  12. June 11, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    Sounds yummy!!!

    Like

  13. June 12, 2012 at 7:46 am #

    I’m going to have to try your recipe. Since I left Texas for California in 1993, I haven’t been able to find good jambalaya. Even when people grow up in Louisiana, once they move somewhere else, even if they claim to have “original jambalaya” or some such nonsense, they seem to forget.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Digging into Double Chocolate Stout Brownies and Aleta Dey | Naimeless - June 11, 2012

    […] at all the bookmarks I’ve left myself for just such an occasion. Turns out I really like The Rantings of an Amateur Chef. At least half of the recipes I’ve booked marked are from that […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.