Maybe I Should Put Cheese on it

Cauliflower is such a versatile vegetable. Regular readers of this blog will know all the things that I do to cauliflower. I rice it and mash it and in some cases break it down into very little pieces. Often I will steam it.

I was once in my doctor’s office and as she works in a teaching hospital, she had a med student shadowing her. After giving me an exam, she sicked him on me to give me the speech about losing weight. He started on this story about when he gets together with his family they all cook such good food. But little changes in the dishes can really go a long way. For instance, with the cauliflower, his family used to pour cheese over it. He continued that just by skipping the cheese, and other minor substitutions, someone could go a long way to eating healthier.

All I could think was – I never have cheese with my cauliflower. Why don’t I? I just have it steamed. Cheese really sounds like it would be great on it. Maybe I should put cheese on it the next time I make it.

I don’t think this was his intent, but he gave me a great idea to eat less healthy. This, unfortunately is not that recipe, but a great one never the less.

Roasting any vegetable brings out great flavor.

OK. There is some cheese here, but it is not poured on top.

Break it apart and coat with spices, olive oil and a little lemon juice before it goes in the oven.

When it comes out, add some grated cheese.DO NOT POUR IT ON. 😉

Roasted Cauliflower

Cook Time: 28 minutes | Makes: 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, peeled and coarsely minced
  • Lemon juice from half a lemon
  • Olive oil
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Parmesan cheese

Directions:

1 Preheat oven to 400°F. Cut cauliflower into florets and put in a single layer in an oven-proof baking dish. Toss in the garlic. Sprinkle lemon juice over cauliflower and drizzle each piece with olive oil. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. If the oven hasn’t reached 400°F yet, set aside until it has.

2 Place casserole in the hot oven, uncovered, for 25-30 minutes, or until the top is lightly brown. Test with a fork for desired doneness. Fork tines should be able to easily pierce the cauliflower. Remove from oven and sprinkle generously with Parmesan cheese. Serve immediately.

Yield: Serves 4.

Source: http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/roasted_cauliflower/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Cheese, kosher, Low Carb, Recipes, Side Dish, vegan, Vegetable, Vegetarian

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

28 Comments on “Maybe I Should Put Cheese on it”

  1. July 15, 2012 at 11:05 am #

    Cauliflower is probably my favourite vegetable (much better than broccoli to my taste) and I like it steamed. But this sounds like a winner; I’ll definitely be trying it.

    Like

  2. Missus Tribble
    July 15, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    My second favourite vegetable after Brussel’s Sprouts! I use it in so many different ways – including piccalilli!

    We have a successful cauliflower in the garden, and also a beautiful romanesco. I plan to take pictures after harvest and before I turn them into something yummy 🙂

    (Do you ever eat raw cauliflower? I do and I love it!)

    Like

    • July 15, 2012 at 11:08 am #

      Yes, delicious raw too. Look forward to the harvest pictures.

      Like

      • Missus Tribble
        July 15, 2012 at 11:42 am #

        When I’m dry-brining veg for piccalilli I always find myself snacking on the raw cauliflower! The piccalilli recipe I use doesn’t call for cooked vegetables – they have to be raw and crunchy!

        The romanesco is sort of like my baby; I didn’t expect any of the plants to show those wonderful fractals due to typical English weather – but one has done and I’m looking at it every day to see how it’s doing 🙂

        Like

      • Missus Tribble
        July 15, 2012 at 11:42 am #

        When I’m dry-brining veg for piccalilli I always find myself snacking on the raw cauliflower! The piccalilli recipe I use doesn’t call for cooked vegetables – they have to be raw and crunchy!

        The romanesco is sort of like my baby; I didn’t expect any of the plants to show those wonderful fractals due to typical English weather – but one has done and I’m looking at it every day to see how it’s doing 🙂

        Like

  3. July 15, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    PS … and I love cauliflower cheese – lots of butter and strong, mature Cheddar cheese. Absolutely 100% healthy!

    Like

  4. July 15, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    Brussels sprouts and beets are so transformed when roasted that people who think they like neither change their minds.

    Like

  5. July 15, 2012 at 11:45 am #

    Roasted cauliflower is great with or without cheese. I think I usually prefer without cheese (surprise!), but I haven’t tried roasting it with garlic. Good thing I read this post before I got around to roasting the head of cauliflower in my fridge. 🙂

    Like

  6. July 15, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    Ohhhh, that looks so good!!! I really have to try this :).

    Like

  7. July 15, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    Cheese is good! It makes other things better. I grew up on cauliflower steamed, but now I love it roasted. Check out my recipe for cauliflower au gratin.

    Like

  8. July 15, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    I wish I could say I liked your blog, but sadly I have to say I absolutely LOVED your blog. Both Mark and I found it very humorous. Oh and I like the recipe also. Thanks for the giggle.

    Like

  9. July 15, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    Hahaha! I love it! Your reaction to the med student is priceless 🙂

    And it looks like it was very inspiring! Looks great. I think you should put cheese on everything 🙂

    Like

  10. July 15, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

    ja, a few slices of parmeasan ala garnish … et voila 😉 nice touch man.

    Like

  11. July 15, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

    Cauliflower cheese is fantastic. Cheese always makes things better.

    Like

  12. July 15, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    Cheese makes almost everything better! (Oh, I see Gary said that!)

    Like

  13. July 15, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    We steam cauliflower and broccoli all the time. So good! Cheese would definitely an awesome addition!

    Like

  14. July 15, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    I’m now going to try roasting cauliflower like this next time we have it – sounds interesting 🙂

    Like

  15. July 15, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

    I suggest putting cheese on top of béchamel, on top of cauliflower.

    Like

  16. July 15, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

    It’s great roasted with Indian curry spices too, but Dr. Dan’s suggestion is also delicious. Cauliflower gratin is the dish that got me to like this vegetable.

    Like

  17. July 15, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

    Doctors receive one 3 credit hour course on basic nutrition during their medical training. All due respect, they are not nutrition experts. All foods fit, even cheese.

    Like

  18. July 16, 2012 at 7:28 am #

    Add a little nutmeg to that cheese too – it’s a great flavour – how much is up to you! (Bless that med student, he’s missing such a treat.)

    Like

  19. July 16, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    I love your inspiration for this piece! You crack me up! ha ha! Although I’m sure your doctor’s shadow would cringe! This recipe sounds yummy! Thanks for the grin and the good food! xo Julia

    Like

  20. July 16, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    yay cauliflower! This sounds yummy! To date my favorite is to just butter / lightly mash cauliflower with a little bit of curry powder.

    Like

  21. leekirs1
    July 16, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    This recipe sounds delicious! Cauliflower needs something to liven it up, which is who I don’t like the mashed version- too bland. That being said, there’s nothing wrong with cheese sauce except the flour or cornstarch invariably used to thicken and smooth it. I like grated, smoked cheddar on top myself :).

    Like

  22. July 18, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

    I love cauliflower. I often mash it with a little goat cheese. I don’t miss potatoes one little bit. A great low GI vegetable.

    Like

  23. July 19, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    I like this a lot!! I love cauliflower, always looking for a new way to cook it 🙂

    Like

  24. notedinnashville
    July 20, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    This makes me smile. I’ll confess, I have to force myself to think, “Maybe I SHOULDN’T put cheese on it.” I love cheese more than chocolate.

    I really enjoy your blog. I look forward to visiting often.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Roasted Cauliflower « Salmon & Avocado - July 23, 2012

    […] subscribe to Rantings of an Amateur Chef, a blog I find inspirational from a blog point of view because the author posts pretty much daily […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.