Porking out for Parmesan

Many years ago I decided that I needed to lose a bunch of weight. I decided to change the way I ate (and have since reverted back several times to my old ways). Low carb dieting was the big rage at the time and I decided to try it without following any specific diet (Atkins or South Beach). As most of my cookbooks included lots and lots of carbs in the recipes, I found myself eating some pretty basic dishes.

After a quick look on Amazon, I found George Stella. Stella is a chef that had also gained quite a few pounds and after switching to a low carb lifestyle (and his family switching too), he lost a bunch of weight and turned it into a career. For a while he had a show on the Food Network and he had several low carb cookbooks. I bought two of them.

One of them had a recipe originated by one of George’s sons, Anthony. The Pork Chop Parmesan had all the hallmarks of low carb eating (meat) but also included a little breading for those who were only trying to maintain their weight.

I served this with some pasta (I’m sure I’d be kicked out of the low carb community for that one).

If you can, buy thin cut, bone in chops. Mid way through the recipe, I decided to add a little pasta sauce and provolone cheese.

Spice them up.

I chose to not bread one chop (mine). Actually, I didn’t have the pasta either, so there was more for my kids.

Spread a dollop of sauce over the chops when they are done and then add some provolone on top.

Anthony’s Pork Chops Parmesan

Prep Time: 15 mins |  Cook Time: 45 mins  | Servings: 4 | Difficulty: Easy

Ingredients:

  • Vegetable oil or cooking spray
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 3 cups italian bread crumbs
  • 1 tablespoon  grated Parmesan cheese
  • 8 center cut bone-in pork chops (about 3 pounds )
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1) Preheat the oven to 375°. Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray and set aside.

2) In a medium bowl, mix together the eggs and cream to make an egg wash.

3) Mix the bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese together in a medium bowl.

4) Season the pork chops well with salt and pepper. Dip each first in the greasing, then the egg wash, then back in the greasing, making sure to coat well on both sides.

5) Pat off any excess greasing and place the chops on the greased baking sheet bake for 45 minutes, until the chops are tender and well browned.

Source: George Stella

Sent from Paprika Recipe Manager

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Baking, Cheese, Italian, Low Carb, Main Dish, Pork, Recipes

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

6 Comments on “Porking out for Parmesan”

  1. July 21, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    I,too, have lost 25 pounds on a low carb diet and continue to lose. I find it relatively easy to follow. Your recipe looks good but I think I’ll forego the pasta for now and serve this with a beautiful fresh salad. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. July 21, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    Love George Stella! I have one of his books.Thanks for reminding me to take it out again! This recipe is awesome! Thanks!

    Like

  3. July 21, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    I made the chicken basil pasta recipe you printed a few days back… very yummy! Thanks!

    Like

  4. messyme
    July 21, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    This comes at a fortunate time for me. I also am going back to low-carb to lose some 10 pounds that have crept on the last two years.

    Like

  5. July 21, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    Looks good. Not a fan of the “lo-carb” movement and I’ve lost plenty of weight without eating less of it so I really think it’s just marketing hype. So I’m all for adding the pasta. Thanks 🙂 Kim*

    http://www.100days100ways.wordpress.com

    Like

  6. July 22, 2012 at 7:56 am #

    Ooooh, this looks good. I rhink every once in a while a low-carb jolt is good for the system, but pasta really is irresistable….

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.