We Have Way Too Much Food In The House!

Several weeks ago I looked in the freezer, cupboard and refrigerator and declared “We have way too much food in the house”. A nice problem to have, but I really needed to see what I could make that would not require the purchase of many new ingredients. The first thing I did was to catalogue everything in my freezer, then deli and vegetable drawers in the refrigerator and lastly the pantry.

I had quite a bit of shrimp (several sizes) and some pearl onions in the freezer. The deli drawer had a tub of feta cheese that held only a cup and had about three weeks until expiration. The pantry had some wheat linguine and cans of fire roasted tomatoes.

I searched my recipes and found a perfect match: Fire Roasted Tomato and Feta Pasta with Shrimp.

A nice hearty dish.

I decided to add the pearl onions after I took the pic.

Saute up the garlic and onions.

Add the shrimp.

The tomatoes.

And pasta.

Fire Roasted Tomato and Feta Pasta with Shrimp

Prep Time: 15 Min | Cook Time: 12 Min | Makes: 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound linguine pasta
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 24 medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 2 (14.5 ounce) can fire roasted tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoon chopped fresh basil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup crumbled feta cheese

Directions:

Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add pasta and cook for 8 to 10 minutes or until al dente; drain.

While the pasta is cooking, heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the garlic; cook and stir until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add the shrimp, and cook until opaque, about 3 to 5 minutes. Pour in the tomatoes and heat through. Season with basil, salt and pepper.

Toss the cooked pasta in the sauce, and sprinkle with crumbled feta to serve.

Nutritional Info:

Amount Per Serving Calories: 702 | Total Fat: 23.4g | Cholesterol: 111mg Powered by ESHA Nutrient Database

Source: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Fire-Roasted-Tomato-and-Feta-Pasta-with-Shrimp/Detail.aspx?ms=1&prop25=70294104&prop26=DailyDish&prop27=2011-10-26&prop28=DailyRecipe&prop29=FullRecipe&me=1

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Cheese, Fried, Italian, Main Dish, Pasta, Recipes, Seafood, Vegetable

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

25 Comments on “We Have Way Too Much Food In The House!”

  1. August 2, 2012 at 11:05 am #

    Definitely one to try – looks like it tastes great!

    Like

  2. ctminnesota
    August 2, 2012 at 11:10 am #

    Looks fantastic!

    Like

  3. August 2, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    the best recipes i know of are those cobbled together with whatever is on hand!

    Like

  4. August 2, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    Very nice!

    Like

  5. rigmover
    August 2, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    Very nice, I love doing things like this.

    Like

  6. August 2, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    Bloody hell that looks good.

    Like

  7. August 2, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    I’m in the same spot right now. We have so much food in the house yet the kids (teenagers) say there is nothing to eat. I have 2 deep freezers stock with meat veggies, stock etc. I’ve put a moratorium on grocery shopping until we use what we have.

    Like

  8. novagirl
    August 2, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    Looks delish!

    Like

  9. August 2, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    Your recipe looks delicious. I have been working very hard lately to use up what I have on hand in my cooking to keep food wasting to an absolute minimum. Food blogs have been very helpful. Great post.

    Like

  10. August 2, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    You’re food scrounging! Good idea to inventory and then use the excess. The recipe looks delicious; the only change I’d make would be to decrease the pasta to 8 oz for 4 servings.

    Like

  11. August 2, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

    Excellent recipe! I wish you would come over here and “catalogue” my pantry, freezer and refrigerator 🙂

    Like

  12. August 2, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

    This sounds delicious – I’m going to try it! I smiled as I read “we have too much food in the house” because just a few minutes ago I was talking to my friend telling her how full our freezer is and how hubby keeps on buying more food!

    Like

  13. August 2, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

    I love the way you just threw it all together. I do that all the time! Yummy.

    Like

  14. August 2, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    That looks delicious!

    Like

  15. asterisk * photography
    August 2, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    Clever thinking. Well done on using all those ingredients with such ingenuity and creativity! Kim*

    http://www.travelphotographyblog.wordpress.com

    Like

  16. August 2, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

    Too much food is a nice problem to have. I always like to have lots of food at home because in the back of my mind, I’m always thinking of all times, now would be a good time for shit to hit the fan. The worst would be if civilisation fell apart the day before shopping day.

    When I’m faced with any ingredients that need to be used up, I just play “Quickfire Challenge” or Iron Chef until it’s all gone.

    Like

  17. August 3, 2012 at 3:13 am #

    This looks delicious – I love pearl onions! … And shrimp of course 🙂

    Like

  18. writersgastronomy
    August 3, 2012 at 10:52 am #

    I actually made a very similar Greek feta pasta a few nights ago (minus the shrimp). Love the combination. Must be a summer thing.

    Like

  19. anonymousy
    August 5, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    Yum! I think I’m going to make this soon! Without the shrimp unfortunately… because I like it, but it does not like me.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. We Have Way Too Much Food In The House! ? Rantings of an … | Cruise Packages - August 3, 2012

    […] Source: http://rantingchef.com/2012/08/02/we-have-way-too-much-food-in-the-house/ […]

    Like

  2. We Have Way Too Much Food In The House! ? Rantings of an … | Richard Taubman Merrill Lynch - August 3, 2012

    […] Source: http://rantingchef.com/2012/08/02/we-have-way-too-much-food-in-the-house/ […]

    Like

  3. In Search of Using Mango Chutney « Rantings of an Amateur Chef - August 28, 2012

    […] palate just right. In a previous attempt, I purchased a jar of Mango Chutney. In my well documented attempt to clear out my fridge and pantry, I found the half-used jar and went in search of a recipe. I found Shrimp Tikka with Mango Chutney. […]

    Like

  4. Searching for the Ranting Chef | Rantings of an Amateur Chef - February 21, 2014

    […] how much food is in the house – THIS MUCH. […]

    Like

  5. 3 Partial Jars of Peanut Butter | Rantings of an Amateur Chef - March 5, 2014

    […] will often open up my pantry, fridge or freezer and declare we have so much food already, I don’t know why I go to the grocery store every […]

    Like

  6. Pantry Stir Fry | Rantings of an Amateur Chef - September 17, 2015

    […] is my go-to dish when I have a bunch of items and this case was no exception. It was another “I’m not going to buy any more food until we use this stuff up” […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.