Heaven for Breakfast

As my ample waistline can attest, I am a lover of food. Some foods I only want occasionally. Others, regularly. There are some cuisines, I could eat almost every meal with a smile on my face. Mexican food falls into that category. Make it a Mexican breakfast, and I am in heaven.

I do make a variety of southwestern inspired breakfasts. Southwestern omelettes and breakfast burritos lead the way. Southwestern Breakfast bites (I’ll have to make those for the blog) are also very good. One dish that I really don’t make enough, but will in the future, is Huevos Rancheros.

This is a filling and tasty dish that is very little extra effort over the standard American fare.

A great breakfast dish that I made for dinner.

The queso fresco cheese can often be found in a specialty cheese area.

Mashing the beans. You can use a fork but this is much easier.

In the oven.

And out of the oven.

Huevos Rancheros with Queso Fresco

Makes: 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 (10-ounce) can diced tomatoes and green chiles, undrained
  • 1 (10-ounce) can red enchilada sauce
  • 1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 (16-ounce) can pinto beans, rinsed and drained
  • Cooking spray
  • 4 large eggs
  • 4 (8-inch) fat-free flour tortillas
  • 1 cup (4 ounces) crumbled queso fresco cheese

Directions:

Combine the tomatoes and enchilada sauce in a medium saucepan; bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer 5 minutes or until slightly thick. Remove from heat; stir in cilantro and juice. Set aside.

Place water and beans in a microwave-safe bowl, and partially mash with a fork. Cover and microwave at HIGH 2 minutes or until hot.

Heat a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat. Add eggs; cook 1 minute on each side or until desired degree of doneness.

Warm tortillas according to package directions. Spread about 1/3 cup beans over each tortilla; top each tortilla with 1 egg. Spoon 1/2 cup sauce around each egg; sprinkle each serving with 1/4 cup cheese.

Nutritional Info:

Amount per serving Calories: 340 Calories from fat: 26% Fat: 9.8g Saturated fat: 3.2g Monounsaturated fat: 2.7g Polyunsaturated fat: 1g Protein: 15.7g Carbohydrate: 37.8g Fiber: 6.1g Cholesterol: 222mg Iron: 2.1mg Sodium: 970mg Calcium: 153mg

Source: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/huevos-rancheros-with-queso-fresco-10000000577202/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Breakfast, Cheese, Eggs, kosher, Lunch, Main Dish, Mexican, Recipes, Vegetable, Vegetarian

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

17 Comments on “Heaven for Breakfast”

  1. August 14, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    YUM. I made something similar last night but put potatoes in mine. I love Mexican breakfast burritos. I could eat them for every meal!

    Like

  2. kategreer
    August 14, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    Delicious! Great job! I’ve never tried making this at home but order it for brunch a lot!

    Like

  3. leekirs1
    August 14, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    Thanks for this!! I always wondered what Huevos Rancheros was all about but always dismissed it- only because i wrongly assumed it would contain the dreaded Chorizo sausage. I can easily convert this recipe over to a Mission Carb Balance Tortilla and go light on the beans, and have a 10- gram Mexican treat.! Thank you!

    Like

  4. rigmover
    August 14, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

    Sounds nice, I missed breakfast too.

    Like

  5. changeforbetterme
    August 14, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    I love Mexican food too! Could eat it all the time. These sound and look delish!

    Like

  6. B
    August 14, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    this looks so yum, i might try making this for dinner one of these nights.

    Like

  7. August 14, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    If you want true HUevos Rancheros, make the sauce: fresh tomatoes, onion, garlic, chiles serranos and cilantro, all chopped. Sautée the onion with the garlic until translucent; add the tomatoes, chiles, salt to taste and some water (so the sauce is not too dense), cook for a while until all the flavors come together. Check for saltiness, add a bit of pepper and add the cilantro. Take corn tortillas (one per egg), fry them on both sides until they are a bit crunchy, drain the oil. Put the tortilla on a plate, an egg on top, and sauce on top of everything. That’s it. In Mexico we don’t eat the huevo ranchero with flour tortilla, but with a corn one, and fried (so they don’t fall apart). And it pains me to say this, but burritos are not really Mexican food… more like Tex-Mex…

    Like

  8. michads
    August 14, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    Looks good! I made huevos rancheros a while ago and blogged about it. After reading yours I’m going to have to make them again now! 🙂

    Like

  9. Lynette
    August 14, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

    I love adding Chorizo to my breakfast burritos. Take it from the casing, fry it up with the egg and instant yum! I also sub potatoes for the beans. I like the idea of using the oven to meld everything together though. Great idea!

    Like

  10. August 14, 2012 at 10:51 pm #

    Mmmmmm….These look wonderful! We make Tex Mex all the time and Queso Fresco IS the best!

    Like

  11. August 15, 2012 at 1:44 am #

    One of my favorite breakfasts too!

    Like

  12. August 15, 2012 at 2:28 am #

    this reminds me of my time in Arizona in the mid 80s. You made me “home”sick. Huevos Rancheros would have been a reason to drive across town to our favorite Mexican restorant.
    excelent post …. yummy pictures

    Like

  13. August 15, 2012 at 4:00 am #

    I would like to wake up with the smell of this breakfast! I adore Mexican food and it is easy to veganize too!

    Like

  14. August 15, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    I love Mexican food, but never for breakfast. After reading this, may have to start!

    Like

  15. August 15, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    It’s rather fortunate that I’m not willing to exert this much energy to make breakfast… because this sounds like something I could get addicted to.

    Like

  16. August 17, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

    YUMMY!

    Like

  17. June 14, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

    Curse cholesterol! I could eat this every meal.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.