Betting Against the Internet

I know I promised some posts ago to stop  making things that I found in my cabinets and freezer, but I couldn’t help myself. I had capers, tuna, linguine and raisins in the pantry and wanted to find a recipe to use them. If I had to take a bet that I’d easily find a recipe with those items, I would have bet against it. I would have been wrong. The Internet came through yet again.

It was pretty good. A variety of tastes and textures.

I had some shallots and pearl onions that I used in place of the bag of frozen ones the recipe calls for. I added the sun-dried tomatoes to the recipe below because I threw them in and they worked well in it.

Fry up the onions.

Add the rest of the ingredients.

And the pasta.

Linguine with Tuna, Capers, and Raisins

Prep Time: 10 min | Cook Time: 10 min | Makes: 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb dried linguine
  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup frozen chopped onions (from a 12-oz bag) such as Ore Ida brand
  • 3 garlic cloves, finely chopped (1 tablespoon)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 (6-oz) cans tuna in olive oil, drained
  • 1/3 cup drained bottled capers (packed in brine; from a 3-oz jar)
  • 3/4 cup golden raisins
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 1/2 cup Sun dried tomatoes
  • 1 cup White wine

Directions:

Cook pasta in a 6- to 8-quart pot of boiling salted water  until al dente. Drain pasta and return to pot.

While pasta cooks, heat oil in a 12-inch heavy skillet over high heat until hot but not smoking and cook onions and garlic with salt and pepper, stirring occasionally, until golden, 6 to 8 minutes. Stir in tuna, capers, raisins, parsley, sun-dried tomatoes and white wine. Add tuna mixture to pasta, tossing to combine, and serve immediately.

Source: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Linguine-with-Tuna-Capers-and-Raisins-233257

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Fruit, Italian, kosher, Main Dish, Pasta, Recipes, Seafood, Vegetable, Wine

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

12 Comments on “Betting Against the Internet”

  1. August 22, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    There have been times when I’ve had to go through the cupboards, make a list of what I had and try to figure out a meal based on those items. So I’m a big fan this. And it’s amazing what you can find on the internet that way. I think most of us average people have had those times when the paycheck was stretched just a little too thin. So never apologize for coming up with great meals based on kitchen ‘strays’.

    Like

  2. August 22, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    When we raid the cupboards for random meal, I call it ‘utilizing the resources available.’ It makes for some odd meal prep but sometimes turns into tasty food experiments. 🙂

    Like

  3. ctminnesota
    August 22, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    I would have never thought about adding in the raisins with the other ingredients, but I’ll bet the sweet with the savory is fantastic (raisins & tuna…who’d have thought?).

    Frozen chopped onions? Another new concept to me – I’ve never heard of them (or looked for them).

    Like

  4. changeforbetterme
    August 22, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    I personally would never bet against the internet. It just amazes me with what I find.

    Like

  5. August 22, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    It’s like playing ‘Ready, Steady Cook every time you open the cupboard! I like the sound of this. I only discovered frozen chopped onions recently and they are brilliant! 🙂

    Like

  6. August 22, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    I don’t like pasta much, myself, but I know I’m in the minority. It’s great for using up all kinds of ingredients in strange combinations. I like the combinations, just not the starch-heavy pasta!

    Like

  7. August 22, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

    looks good i shud give a try.. i too do a lot of search the cupboard and make something.. you shudnt stop doing tat… tats called being creative 🙂

    Like

  8. ms.caryl
    August 23, 2012 at 1:34 am #

    Hi! Just letting you know I nominated you for the ‘Beautiful Blogger Award’ 🙂

    http://bakeeattuesday.wordpress.com

    Like

  9. August 23, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    I think it’s a good idea use what you already have at home.. you can do a contest! Make a post with all the ingredient you have at home and ask people to send their recipe (it must be an original one of course!). At the end of the year you can give your personal “Ranting Award”! (Please tell me you have still pasta so that I can partecipate!!)

    Like

  10. August 24, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    Totally random, but I’m intrigued! Glad to hear it was tasty!

    Like

  11. August 24, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    An interesting mix of textures, especially the raisins.

    Like

  12. August 25, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

    Pantry raids (*smiles*) is one of the most fun ways to create a meal. Never apologize for it! It fosters creativity and innovation in cooking, developing new flavor combinations.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.