Maggie Monday: Peach Crisp

Maggie is here with us once again. In the post below she will ask Peach or Blackberry. I like her answer of both but I would be tempted to make one dish with both in it (and I bet it would be good!). Check out the Pony Mama blog that Maggie writes…

OK. Stop what you’re doing and go get some fresh peaches and blackberries. Then make this dessert twice. One pan of peach and one of blackberry. Your local farmers market will have both this time of year. Hurry! Go! (Oh, while you’re there pick up a big cucumber, and save it for next Monday’s recipe)

So, I seriously can’t decide which is better. Most of the time I make both at once cause we can’t handle this decision. The topping on this crisp is crazy good- crunchy, chewy, and buttery. On top of warm gooey peaches or blackberries. I have never tried this with apples, but that would probably be good too. (although I am bit of a purist with thinking that apple crisp topping should include oats!)

My brother craves this dessert and he too is unable to choose between Peach or Blackberry. It is impossible! Make both and enjoy!

I’ve included photos of peach here only because I got to the market too late for the berries. Lesson learned to get my butt out of bed earlier next weekend!

Peach (or Blackberry) Crisp

What you need:

Crust Topping

1 cup flour

1 cup sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1 egg, beaten

1 stick melted butter, reserved

;

Peach Filling

2 Tbs flour

¾ sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

5 cups sliced fresh peaches

What you do:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In a bowl mix flour, sugar and baking powder. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and blend in the beaten egg, mixing until the topping is crumbly. Set aside.

For the filling mix the flour, cinnamon and sugar in a small bowl. Place the peaches in a large bowl and sprinkle with the flour and sugar mixture. Toss gently to evenly coat the peaches.

Transfer the peach mixture to a well-greased 8×8 glass baking dish. Sprinkle the topping over the peaches.

Drizzle melted butter evenly over the crumbly topping. Place the baking dish on a baking sheet as I promise it will bubble over into the oven. Bake for about an hour.

Let cool at least 30 minutes before serving.

This is also amazing with fresh or frozen blackberries. Omit cinnamon if you choose the berry option.

;

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Baking, Dessert, Fruit, Guest-Maggie, kosher, Recipes, Vegetarian

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

7 Comments on “Maggie Monday: Peach Crisp”

  1. August 28, 2012 at 1:02 am #

    I love Maggie Mondays.

    Like

  2. August 28, 2012 at 2:32 am #

    I agree that I would want to try one dessert with both fruits. Yum!

    Like

  3. Maggie
    August 28, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    I have made it with mixing peaches and blackberries, and sometimes with peaches and raspberries too. All get a double thumbs up!

    Like

  4. August 29, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    One of my family members is obsessed with peach cobbler-type desserts and he is always asking me to make it. This recipe is just like mine, so I know it’s delish! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    http://diningoutcookingin.wordpress.com/

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Peach Crisp « Fresh Veggies in the Desert - September 1, 2012

    […] I made a peach crisp.   And, I followed a recipe that I found on The Ranting Chef.   Great blog and I always look forward to Maggie Mondays where I found this recipe HERE. […]

    Like

  2. July 4th Food! | Rantings of an Amateur Chef - July 3, 2013

    […] Crumb Pie,  Cherry Pie, Cherry Surprise, Chocolate Pecan Pie, Cowgirl Cookies, Orange Blondies, Peach (or Blackberry) Crisp, Peanut Butter Chocolate Brownies, Pear and Apple Crumble, Pineapple-Coconut Upside Down Cake, Red […]

    Like

  3. Labor Day Cookout Food! | Rantings of an Amateur Chef - September 2, 2013

    […] Crumb Pie,  Cherry Pie, Cherry Surprise, Chocolate Pecan Pie, Cowgirl Cookies, Orange Blondies, Peach (or Blackberry) Crisp, Peanut Butter Chocolate Brownies, Pear and Apple Crumble, Pineapple-Coconut Upside Down Cake, Red […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.