Word Association

Let’s play a little word association. When I say CASSEROLE, what do you say?

Nothing says comfort food like the word casserole. For so many of us it, the style of dish was ever-present in our dinner hour as we were growing up. In many cases, it was both a one dish meal and a way to use already cooked meats and in others a good way to bring in an occasional “exotic” ingredient into a comfortable setting.

I don’t make a lot of casseroles myself. I generally prefer the stove top to the oven (it just seems more participatory on my part), but sometimes it just seems right to do.

This recipe has all the hallmarks of my notion of a casserole: chicken, creamy sauce, a few veggies, cheese and some breading. While not a one dish meal, it was pretty easy to put together.

Nothing really exotic here. I used pre-cooked chicken strips.

Cook up the milk and flour.

Mix together the creamy ingredients.

All mixed together.

The amount of breadcrumbs was way too much. You may want to cut it by 30%.

Makeover Hot Chicken Salad Recipe

Prep Time: 25 min | Cook Time: 30 min | Makes: 6

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/2 teaspoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup fat-free milk
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/4 cup reduced-fat mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup reduced-fat sour cream
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons grated onion
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups cubed cooked chicken breast
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1 can (8 ounces) sliced water chestnuts, drained and coarsely chopped
  • 1 cup seasoned salad croutons
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds, chopped and toasted
  • 1 cup soft bread crumbs
  • 1 tablespoon reduced-fat butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup shredded reduced-fat cheddar cheese

Directions:

In a small saucepan, whisk flour and milk until smooth. Bring to a boil over medium heat;cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Remove from the heat.

In a large bowl, whisk the yogurt, mayonnaise, sour cream, lemon juice, onion and salt until smooth. Whisk in the milk mixture. Stir in the chicken, celery, water chestnuts, croutons and almonds.

Spoon into a 2-qt. baking dish coated with cooking spray. Cover and bake at 350° for 25 minutes.

Combine bread crumbs and butter; stir in cheese. Sprinkle over casserole. Bake, uncovered, 5-10 minutes longer or until heated through and cheese is melted. Yield: 6 servings.

Nutritional Info:

Nutritional Facts 3/4 cup equals 323 calories, 15 g fat (5 g saturated fat), 78 mg cholesterol, 592 mg sodium, 19 g carbohydrate, 2 g fiber, 29 g protein. Diabetic Exchanges: 4 lean meat, 2-1/2 fat, 1 starch, 1 vegetable.

Source: http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/Makeover-Hot-Chicken-Salad

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Baking, Cheese, Chicken, Main Dish 2, Recipes, Vegetable2

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

10 Comments on “Word Association”

  1. September 9, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    The word association is interesting, because I normally go to some lengths to avoid the word “Casserole” even when I’ve made one! “Stew” sounds much more comforting to me – casserole implies lumpy gravy and chewy meat – not like your recipe at all!

    Like

  2. September 9, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    Looks good. And cAsserole makes me thnk yummy every time. I might have to try this. 🙂

    Like

  3. September 9, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

    🙂 My Mom used to make tuna casseroles. It stretched a can of tuna a lllloooonnnngggg way.

    Like

  4. September 9, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    I love the idea of casseroles, and will try this one – nice job!

    Like

  5. September 9, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    I love the idea of casseroles . . . . everything in one dish, but I don’t do them often because — yes, for me, the IDEA of a casserole contains a creamy sauce, while yummy, not something I need to eat a lot of. This sounds yummy . . . with a few modifications (for me and my tastes)!

    Like

  6. September 9, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    You say casserole, I say YES!

    Like

  7. whisksandchopsticks
    September 10, 2012 at 3:24 am #

    Simply delicious! It’s in the middle of the night…I am hungry and drooling over this picture.

    Like

  8. September 10, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    casseroles are comfort food for me and love them in any form or shape…used to do this alot when I had leftover chicken or turkey…instead of tuna in the standard tuna casserole….:-)

    Like

  9. September 13, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    Looks wonderful. Casserole makes me think “Dad’s Casserole”. That’s always what we called it. Ground beef, sliced potatoes, creamed corn, peas, and chucks of cheese cut up into it. I’m sure there must have been more moisture added than just the creamed corn or the potatoes wouldn’t get done. I don’t make it. Not one of my favorites. It’s one of the reason I don’t do many casseroles myself. But we had it often growing up for what should be a clear reason. It was my dad’s favorite dish.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All Rotten Au Gratin? | Rantings of an Amateur Chef - March 2, 2013

    […] Gazpacho, Grandma O’s Potato Salad, Guinness Beef Stew, Guinness Pot Pie, Lentil Bolognese, Makeover Hot Chicken Salad Recipe, Mushroom Pie, Osso Bucco, Red Beans and Rice, Red Wine Gravy, Shrimp Etouffee, Slow Cooker […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.