Ramekin Cooking

As mentioned in my recent Gourmet Club reports, I made a number of different dipping sauces. As each attendee (8 of us) was served six different sauces, I had a need for forty-eight containers. As I had four fondue plates with five sections for sauces, I was left with having to find twenty-eight small containers. At a local store I bought 24 ramekins (all they had) and four small glass dishes. They worked very well for their intended purpose.

After the Gourmet Club dinner, I began to look for opportunities to use them in cooking. The first opportunity was this southwestern corn pudding.

The consistency was much closer to cornbread than creamed corn. It was very good.

Next time I might put a little diced red pepper in there too.

Dusting the ramekins with breadcrumbs.

Processing the corn.

The egg base.

Ready for the oven.

Beautiful and tasty!

Southwestern Corn Pudding

Makes: Serves 8

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup breadcrumbs
  • 4 cups fresh or frozen, thawed corn kernels (from 4 ears), divided
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 cup low-fat sour cream
  • ¼ cup chopped cilantro
  • 1 small jalapeño chile, minced (2 Tbs.)
  • 1 tsp. salt

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Coat 8 1/2-cup ramekins or custard cups or 8-inch square baking dish with cooking spray, and dust with breadcrumbs.

2. Pulse 3 cups corn kernels in food processor until pulpy and broken down. Transfer to bowl, and stir in remaining 1 cup whole corn kernels.

3. Whisk together eggs, sour cream, cilantro, jalapeño, and salt in separate bowl. Stir corn into egg mixture. Transfer mixture to prepared ramekins, and bake 30 to 40 minutes, or until top is golden.

Nutritional Info:

Calories: 188 Protein: 8 g Total Fat: 6 g Saturated Fat: 2 g Carbohydrates: 27 g Cholesterol: 111 mg Sodium: 456 mg Fiber: 2 g Sugar: 8 g

Source: http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipe/southwestern-corn-pudding/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: appetizer, Baking, Breakfast, Eggs, kosher, Lunch, Mexican, Recipes, Side Dish, Vegetable2, Vegetarian

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

9 Comments on “Ramekin Cooking”

  1. September 28, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    This looks SO good! I’m sure it tastes heavenly.

    Like

  2. deCamville Design
    September 28, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    I love ramekin cooking! Great post.

    Like

  3. September 28, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

    Anything with corn is bound to be good. In Santa Fe, we might add a little more jalapeño for local asbestos taste buds.

    Like

  4. September 28, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    Ymmm…this is such a great idea to cook lunches/dinners like mini pot-pies, cassaroles or like this Post you have here if the corn pudding! As a single, I don’t like to cook up huge quantities of dishes, because that means I’ll be eating it for days and I honestly don’t like to freeze things b/c, well, my freezer is already pretty full. Anyways, great idea about this Ramekin cooking!
    ~Amy

    Like

  5. September 28, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    cannot wait to try this! It reminded me I have a set of rammekins from when we lived in France. Must look for them!

    Like

  6. September 28, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

    This is a twist on regular ole’ corn pudding. Must Try & Thanks for posting.

    Like

  7. jetr1
    September 28, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    I had corn pudding for the first time last year. Yours looks better. I am sure it taste better too

    Like

  8. September 29, 2012 at 6:21 am #

    Looks great. And it’s something that vegetarians like me can eat.

    Like

  9. September 30, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    Just the type of recipe I was looking for. Something to make with my sweet corn, different from what I usually make for dinner. Trying this one tonight, thanks.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.