Mustard Rocks!

My condiment of choice is mustard.

I was never a ketchup fan. Not as a kid, not as a teen and for sure not now. I don’t know why as I like tomatoes and generally love vinegar based sauces. French fries can take a little salt and vinegar, but keep the red stuff away from them. Mayonnaise isn’t bad. Salsa works for a number of things, but mustard leads the pack.

Whether it is spicy brown, coarse-grained, Chinese hot, country Dijon, Cleveland stadium or plain yellow, mustard rocks.

This wonderful dish uses the coarse-grained.

I didn’t have a full jar of the coarse kind so I supplemented it with some good ole spicy brown.

Marinating.

Cooking up the sauce.

The loins on the grill.

Reunited on the plate!

Grilled Mustard-Glazed Pork

Prep Time: 10 minutes | Cook Time: 23 mins | Makes: 6

Ingredients:

  • 2 12- to 14- ounce pork tenderloins
  • 1/2 cup apple juice
  • 1/4 cup cider vinegar
  • 2 large shallots, minced
  • 1/4 cup coarse-grain brown mustard
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 11/2 teaspoons soy sauce
  • Dash pepper
  • Snipped fresh chives (optional)

Directions:

Trim fat from tenderloins. Place tenderloins in a plastic bag set in a shallow dish. For marinade, combine apple juice, vinegar, shallots, mustard, oil, brown sugar, soy sauce, and pepper. Pour over meat; close bag. Marinate in refrigerator for 30 minutes, turning bag occasionally.

In a grill with a cover arrange preheated coals around a drip pan. Drain tenderloins, reserving marinade. Place tenderloins on the grill rack directly over medium-hot coals; grill for 8 minutes, turning once to brown both sides. Move tenderloins over drip pan; insert meat thermometer in center of thickest tenderloin. Cover and grill for 15 to 20 minutes more or until meat thermometer registers 160 degree F.

Meanwhile, for sauce, pour reserved marinade into a medium saucepan. Bring to boiling and reduce heat. Simmer, uncovered, about 8 minutes or until reduced to 2/3 cup. Slice the tenderloins across the grain. Serve with the sauce. If desired, sprinkle with chives. Makes 6 servings.

Source: http://www.bhg.com/recipe/pork/grilled-mustard-glazed-pork/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Grilled, Low Carb, Main Dish 2, Pork, Recipes

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

16 Comments on “Mustard Rocks!”

  1. October 23, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    I like mustard too. Good looking pork.

    Like

  2. October 23, 2012 at 11:10 am #

    love that stadium mustard. When I was a young man, my roommates and I rented next to the man who ran the company that made it. Whenever I think of it it takes me back to those wild times. Stadium mustard tastes great, and makes me smile.

    Like

  3. October 23, 2012 at 11:10 am #

    Agree, and I especially like hot mustard. Mustard on french fries is very French!

    Like

  4. Lynette
    October 23, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    Mustard is the best! I recently did a pork roast with mustard sauce using German mustard. http://wp.me/p2bJzA-uP

    Like

  5. October 23, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    Your blog with its mouth watering dishes always arrives late afternoon in the UK just when I am getting hungry for some dinner…

    Like

  6. October 23, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    Yum – I love mustard with pork too! One of our quick & easy fave’s is Pork tenderloin, coated in course Dijon and sprinkled with rosemary, then rolled in seasoned bread crumbs and baked 400 for about 35 min (depending on the size of the loin of course) and served with baked apples yummy! I am going to try your sauce it looks awesome!

    Like

  7. mrsmooney27
    October 23, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    Oh my goodness! All your posts make my stomach scream with hunger even when I’m not hungry! lol and I had to read this one because i LOVE mustard! I’m so going to try this one day without my husband knowing since he doesn’t feel the same about mustard lol.

    Like

  8. October 23, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    Your post made me hungry! I’m gonna look for something similar to eat for lunch today. 🙂

    Jenn
    https://ohhhoney.wordpress.com/

    Like

  9. Bryan Do
    October 23, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

    my saliva is dropping now.
    this is so eye delicious.

    Like

  10. P.S. I Love Soap Co.
    October 24, 2012 at 9:15 am #

    That looks soooooo Yummy! Thanks for sharing:)

    Like

  11. jetr1
    October 24, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

    Sorry to be the killjoy, I love ketsup.

    Like

  12. October 26, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    Growing up, I didn’t like Mustard or Katsup. I learned to love Mustard when in the Navy. Course ground is my favorite. But I alwasy go with brown mustards over yellow. Unless I’m eating corndogs. Then the only thing to use is the cheap yellow mustard.

    Like

  13. October 27, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    I like ketchup but mustard is definitely my condiment of choice!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fallen Out of the Rotation | Rantings of an Amateur Chef - April 10, 2013

    […] Brisket, Dirty P’s Garlic-Ginger Chicken Thighs, Gingery Peanut Noodles with Chicken, Grilled Mustard-Glazed Pork, Grilled Venison Tenderloin, Hot and Sour Soup, Mushroom Green Ginger Soup, Orange Soy Pork […]

    Like

  2. July 4th Food! | Rantings of an Amateur Chef - July 3, 2013

    […] Salad, Grilled Tri-Tip, Grilled Venison Tenderloin,  London Broil with Garlic and Herbs, Mustard Glazed Pork Loin, Peppercorn Steaks with Bourbon Sauce, Pulled Pork, Ribeye Bites, Spicy Bar-B-Que Briskett, Tilapia […]

    Like

  3. Labor Day Cookout Food! | Rantings of an Amateur Chef - September 2, 2013

    […] Salad, Grilled Tri-Tip, Grilled Venison Tenderloin,  London Broil with Garlic and Herbs, Mustard Glazed Pork Loin, Peppercorn Steaks with Bourbon Sauce, Pulled Pork, Ribeye Bites, Spicy Bar-B-Que Briskett, Tilapia […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.