My Stomach’s Delight and Wallet’s Dismay

I have to credit my first sautéed mushrooms to Dale.

Dale and I both served as Resident Advisors on the staff for a residence hall at Ohio State. We became good friends and when I started dating the woman who later became The Ranting Wife, we ended up double dating with Dale and his long-time girlfriend.

Both Dale and my girlfriend were ahead of his girlfriend (Tammy) and I in school, so they graduated before us. They both returned to the Cleveland area, so virtually every weekend two of us would make the two hour drive north or they would make the drive south.

One weekend, down in Columbus, Dale suggested we grill out. As he was now a working man and I was a poor college student, I was always looking to reduce the cost of taking our girlfriends out, so I was game. He decided that he would get the food and we’d split the cost.

I came over to Tammy’s place and Dale already had the coals hot and the grill ready to cook on. To my stomach’s delight, and my wallet’s dismay, Dale came out with thick beautiful steaks. While I manned the grill, Dale went in to make the side dish, sautéed mushrooms.

Now I had never been much of a mushroom fan, but didn’t say anything. When it was time to eat, with a scoop of soft, buttery mushrooms on my plate, I took a bite. Delicious!

Dale used butter. I have now moved on to a little olive oil (to get them started) and red wine.

Three ingredients.

Saute up the shrooms in a little oil. I used about 2 teaspoons.

Once the mushrooms have had a chance to cook for a bit, add about 1/3 cup of red wine. Saute until the wine is mostly reduced.

Succulent!

Sauted Mushrooms in Red Wine

2 cups of sliced mushrooms

2 teaspoons olive oil

1/3 cup red wine

Saute mushrooms in oil until tender. Add wine and saute until wine is mostly reduced. Serve.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: appetizer, kosher, Low Carb, Recipes, Side Dish, vegan, vegetable3, Vegetarian, Wine

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

3 Comments on “My Stomach’s Delight and Wallet’s Dismay”

  1. November 7, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    Good to see you on foodforfun, Pat. Thanks for stopping by:-) Love mushrooms and your recipe looks simple and crazy good. Will pull it up next time I have mushrooms in the fridge.

    Like

  2. November 7, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    Mmmmm. Love them ‘shrooms! Kim*

    http://www.100days100ways.wordpress.com/2012/06/08/mushrooms/

    Like

  3. November 12, 2012 at 2:37 am #

    Sometimes I use sherry, sometimes I use olive oil, sometimes I use butter, sometimes I use all three. I’ve probably used red wine and even beer if it was at hand when I needed liquid.

    I love mushrooms! Yay Dale!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.