Lunar Eggs

Hard boiled eggs are little gifts from heaven. Little bombs of protein that are easy to carry and generally easy to store. One moderate tap on a hard surface and hopefully you are a quick peel away rom eating. Unless that tap reveals that the shell will only come off in 1×1 mm squares. The joy and elation of that egg has now turned into a murderous exercise. By the time you are done the egg looks like the surface of the moon.

I have been lucky of late and have not had a lunar egg in a while. I think the trick is to rapidly cool down the egg after boiling, by placing it in cold water (and keeping the water cold by continuing to add cold water or ice).

I love the idea of Scotch Eggs. Sausage wrapped around the hard-boiled egg. Genius!

There are a fair number of ingredients.

The spiced up breadcrumbs.

The key (and I was only partially successful) is to get the sausage as thin as can be while able to hold its shape around the egg.

I could use more practice in that department.

Dusted with the breadcrumbs.

In the oil.

And out.

Delicious. I served mine with a little spicy brown mustard. Yum!

Kicked Up Scotch Eggs

Prep Time: 30 min | Cook Time: 15 min | Makes: 4 servings | Difficulty:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 pounds country-style sausage, casings removed and crumbled
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 hard-boiled eggs, shells removed
  • 1 cup bread crumbs
  • Creole seasoning, recipe follows
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 beaten egg
  • Vegetable oil, for deep-frying the eggs

Essence (Emeril’s Creole Seasoning):

  • 2 1/2 tablespoons paprika
  • 2 tablespoons salt
  • 2 tablespoons garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon onion powder
  • 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 tablespoon dried leaf oregano
  • 1 tablespoon dried thyme

Directions:

In a large bowl combine the sausage, cayenne and salt. Divide into 4 portions and on a sheet of waxed paper, shape each portion into a thin round. Place 1 hard-boiled egg on the sausage round and wrap to enclose the egg, patting gently to smooth the surface. (This step is much easier with wet hands.)

Season the bread crumbs with Creole seasoning. Dredge the sausage-wrapped egg in the flour, then dip in the egg and roll in the bread crumbs until well coated. Chill in the refrigerator until ready to cook.

In a deep fryer or large heavy skilled, heat 2 to 3 inches of oil to 350 degrees F. Fry the eggs, 2 at a time until golden brown and crisp, about 6 to 8 minutes. Remove with a slotted spoon and drain on paper towels before serving.

Source: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/kicked-up-scotch-eggs-recipe/index.html

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: appetizer, Breakfast, Cajun, Eggs, English, Fried, Low Carb, Lunch, Pork, Recipes, Side Dish, snack

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

20 Comments on “Lunar Eggs”

  1. December 5, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    Wow, this sounds amazing! You know I’m a vegan, so it’s not on my menu…but if it were wow! I’ve never heard of anything like this! I wonder how it would be with soft boiled eggs so you have the yoke pour out and over the morsel when you go in…..sounds yummy 😉

    Like

  2. December 5, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    Great writeup – i need to make these soon!

    Like

  3. December 5, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    I love scotch eggs! I make them with quail eggs (tiny) to serve as a hearty appetizer at parties. Sometimes they disappear before I can even try one.

    Like

  4. Leilani
    December 5, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    What will those crazy Scots think up next? With that said, I have never tried one.:)

    Like

  5. December 5, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    The trick is to NOT use fresh eggs. After a week the thin skin inside the egg shrinks away from the shell creating an air pocket. Boil and voila! I buy 2 dozen and mark one “do not use” lol

    Like

  6. December 5, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    What an awesome~awesome~awesome idea! Yum!!! I’m making them as soon I get home. I am on travel, but I can’t wait to try this! I can tell my son they are dinosaur eggs! Nice…
    ~Thanks- Felicia

    Like

  7. December 5, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    My pulse slowed a little while reading this–but I don’t think this will stop me from making them 🙂

    Like

  8. December 5, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    I will never get this image out of my mind. Can’t be kosher!

    Like

  9. December 6, 2012 at 12:54 am #

    Thanks for the follow, your blog is inspiring me to write even more!!!
    I really liked this post, and now Im strangely hungry 🙂 have a great night

    Like

  10. December 6, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    For a Renaissance Fetival-er, I’m ashamed to say I just had my first Scotch Egg a few weekends ago…..

    Not sure what took so long….but dang deeee-lish!!!!

    Like

  11. December 6, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    That looks amazing! If only there was a way to figure out how to get the egg inside to have a runny yolk… I don’t think its possible though!

    Like

    • December 6, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

      It is possible. I don’t know if you’ve heard of a British chef called Heston Blumenthal (?) but he managed it. The egg is soft-boiled and then removed carefully from the shell with the aid of a spoon before being coated and deep-fried. It may be on YouTube somewhere 🙂

      Like

  12. December 6, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    Lovely recipe. Just love Scotch eggs. One tip for getting the sausagemeat thin is to roll it between two layers of clingfilm (plastic wrap). Remove top layer, place egg on top, bring sausagemeat up around egg and smoothe. Remove bottom layer of clingfilm. Voila! 🙂

    Like

  13. December 6, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    I love your kicked up Scottish eggs! Yummy Yum: true & tasty wonderful comfort food!

    Like

  14. December 6, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    I often see your posts in my reader, but very seldom click through to read the whole thing. This intrigues me, and I’m not even a big fan of boiled eggs.

    Like

  15. December 6, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

    Mmmm. I adore scotch eggs – and yet (surprisingly??) haven’t attempted them since setting the fire alarm off whilst making them in my Home Economics class at school! I think perhaps it’s time to try again…

    Like

  16. December 6, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    great recipe, these look delicious!

    Like

  17. December 7, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    I’m a vegetarian but my dad would go nuts for these..looks good!

    Like

  18. December 8, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    I am always looking for things to do with eggs since I got chickens. I am going to try this tomorrow.

    Like

  19. December 31, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

    They look scary but sound delish.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.