Potato Pancake…..Reuben

“Make me”

It instantly called out to me.

“I’ll be delicious”

Go away!

“You cannot forget about me.”

And I couldn’t.

I have always been an early bird. As a result, I often will get to work very early in the morning, often turning on the lights when I walk onto the floor. At times, knowing I have extra time, I will find a new way to get to work. Take a new street. Avoid the freeway. Not being a native of Cleveland (where I live), I like to explore new neighborhoods and often will drive by a restaurant that I later find my way to.

On one such divergent commute, I drove by a local German restaurant. I had been there once before and found it to be a decent place. What caught my eye this time was a big banner they had hanging outside, “Potato Pancake Rueben”.

“Make me”

Wow. It hit me like a ton of bricks. That sounds delicious.

“I already said that”

I added it to my foodie bucket list to make , but as the days and weeks went by, I kept thinking of it. So I made it.

Photo Dec 02, 11 58 54 AM

These were as decadent as you would think, but also very good.

Photo Dec 02, 11 27 05 AM

The potato pancakes were from yesterday’s recipe and was the building block.

Photo Dec 02, 11 46 25 AM

I made my piles of corned beef, sauerkraut (for those who wanted it) and swiss slices.

Photo Dec 02, 11 53 11 AM

Putting the bottoms (and tops stacked in the back) under the broiler.

Photo Dec 02, 11 58 42 AM

My mouth is watering just remembering them.

Potato Pancake Reuben

Ingredients:

  • 8 potato pancakes, warmed
  • 1.5 lbs deli sliced corned beef
  • 8 slices Swiss cheese
  • 1 cup sauerkraut, drained
  • 1/2 cup Thousand Island dressing

Directions:

Preheat broiler.

Spread one side of four of the potato pancakes with Thousand Island dressing. On 4 pancakes, one fourth of the corned beef,, 1/4 cup sauerkraut, and top with two slices of swiss cheese. Repeat for the other sandwiches.

Place open faced sandwiches, and other pancakes under the broiler until the cheese melts. Be careful not to burn the pancakes.

Remove from the broiler and spread additional thousand island dressing over the melted cheese and top with the other pancake. Serve.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Beef, Cheese2, German, kosher, Lunch2, Main Dish 2, Recipes

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

14 Comments on “Potato Pancake…..Reuben”

  1. Leilani
    January 30, 2013 at 11:13 am #

    Well that’s just frikin’ genius! Have always wanted to make potato pancakes–never tried. Yum!

    Like

  2. January 30, 2013 at 11:21 am #

    I love how they called to you! Looks tasty!

    Like

  3. January 30, 2013 at 11:28 am #

    Brilliant! I now know what to make on Superbowl Sunday.

    Like

  4. January 30, 2013 at 11:30 am #

    What a great combination!

    Like

  5. blowingoffsteamandmore
    January 30, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    Ok now I am making these for sure. Reuben sandwiches are a weakness of mine and combine them with potato pancakes and all bets are off.

    Like

  6. January 30, 2013 at 2:26 pm #

    This one stopped me in my tracks. Out of control and totally sounds yummy.

    Like

  7. January 30, 2013 at 7:09 pm #

    four words: OH MY GOSH YUM

    Like

  8. January 30, 2013 at 8:53 pm #

    God! looks so delicious!

    Like

  9. A Table in the Sun
    January 30, 2013 at 11:32 pm #

    Great idea for lazy Sunday brunch.

    Like

  10. January 31, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

    Don’t often drool when i read a blog……i did with this one!!

    Like

  11. marshland
    February 1, 2013 at 6:05 pm #

    My missus is Dutch and they have many variations. Of course the Dutch insist on using Croma liquid butter. We normally just have salt and pepper but occasionally we add a smidgeon of sambal to spice it up. We always end up with a big dollop of sambal on the plate anyway for most meals. We eat them with meatballs or fresh mackerel. If we fancy a quick heart attack we’ll add a square of Gouda on top of each pancake. I also add a few drops of ketjap manis to the plate.

    Like

  12. February 4, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

    I’m adding this to my list of things to make this week!

    And if I substitute for the actual flour, it’ll be gluten free. Of course, I’ll be substituting a nice veggie fak’n ham or equivalent as well.

    And maybe a mayo/horseradish mix instead of the 1000 islands.

    I blame that last one on pregnancy cravings, though…lol.

    Like

  13. December 29, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

    Oh my goodness this looks like magic on a plate! How delicious!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. As the Culinary Gods Intended | Rantings of an Amateur Chef - October 17, 2013

    […] pancake recipe I’ve posted here. The first recipe I used to make a great sandwich – The Potato Pancake Reuben! These were just as the culinary gods intended, as a side dish for a German […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.