The Ranting Chef’s World

As I have mentioned in a number of posts, I am amazed at how well the blog has been received. This is true not only here in my native US, but around the world. There are very loyal readers in 12-15 different countries and the blog has been accessed from countries around the globe. In fact, as I write this there have been visitors from 169 different countries! While I marvel at the number, it has motivated me to see if I can get them all.

My first step was to identify how WordPress (my blog engine here) identifies countries. This is done through an Internet Country Code. With a quick Google search, I was able to get a list of the codes and the number of IP addresses assigned to each code. The US, as with many resources, is a hog; 1.5 billion IP addresses have been allocated here. Many very small countries have under 5000.

I then ran a compare between my list of visitors and the country code list and have found my “hit list” of countries that I want to see here on the blog. Currently there are 60 countries with assigned IP addresses that have not visited here. Come on countries, get with the program! 😉

If you have family or friends in any of these, I’d love it if you asked them to swing by. I realize that a number on the list restrict their citizens from accessing outside sites and therefore I may never get them. I also believe that access from military stationed overseas shows the home IP country code unless they use a local cafe. If you get someone to visit, post a comment extolling your success! Here are the countries that have so far missed out on The Rantings of an Amateur Chef:

Afghanistan, Aland Islands, Anguilla, Belize, Benin, British Indian Ocean Territory, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Cook Islands, Cuba, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Faroe Islands, French Guiana, French Polynesia, The Gambia, Guadeloupe, Guernsey, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Holy See, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, North Korea, Kosovo, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Mali, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Montserrat, Nauru, Niue, Norfolk Island, Reunion, Saint Martin, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, São Tomé and Príncipe, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Swaziland, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tokelau, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Wallis and Futuna, Yemen

Photo Apr 04, 5 43 43 PM

This recipe is named after an area in the world, Baja Mexico. This is the third fish taco recipe I’ve made for the blog. The first was beer battered. The second was without batter. This is like the three bears, right in the middle. It was perfect.

Photo Apr 04, 5 08 14 PM

It looks like a lot of ingredients but much is for the sauce and slaw.

Photo Apr 04, 5 15 58 PM

Making the slaw.

Photo Apr 04, 5 21 31 PM

Getting the fish coated. It thought this was easiest. I was right.

Photo Apr 04, 5 29 54 PM

Into the fryer. You could use a large pan with oil.

Photo Apr 04, 5 35 05 PM

Ready for the tortilla.

Photo Apr 04, 5 39 10 PM

All put together.

Photo Apr 04, 5 42 50 PM

They go quick, so grab one!

Photo Apr 04, 5 43 38 PM

Yum!

Baja Fish Tacos

Prep Time: 0 hours 10 minutes | Cook Time: 0 hours 10 minutes | Makes: 4 servings | Difficulty: Easy

Ingredients:

  • Vegetable oil, for frying
  • 1/4red cabbage, thinly sliced (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 1/2cup fresh cilantro, roughly chopped
  • Juice of 1 lime, plus wedges for serving
  • 2tablespoons honey or agave nectar
  • 1/2cup mayonnaise
  • Kosher salt
  • 12corn tortillas
  • 3/4cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2teaspoon chili powder
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • 1 1/4pounds skinless halibut fillet, cut into 2-by-1/2-inch pieces
  • 1Hass avocado
  • 1/2cup fresh salsa

Directions:

Heat about 3 inches vegetable oil in a medium pot over medium-low heat until a deep-fry thermometer registers 375 degrees F. Meanwhile, toss the cabbage, cilantro, lime juice, honey and mayonnaise in a bowl. Season the slaw with salt.Warm the tortillas in a skillet over medium-low heat or wrap in a damp cloth and microwave 25 seconds. Wrap in a towel to keep warm.Mix the flour, chili powder, and salt and pepper to taste in a shallow bowl. Dredge the fish in the flour mixture, then fry in batches until golden and just cooked through, 2 to 3 minutes. Transfer with a slotted spoon to a paper-towel-lined plate to drain. Season with salt.Halve, pit and slice the avocado. Fill the tortillas with the fish, avocado, slaw and salsa. Serve with lime wedges.Per serving: Calories 777; Fat 45 g (Saturated 7 g); Cholesterol 103 mg; Sodium 529 mg; Carbohydrate 66 g; Fiber 9g; Protein 31 gPhotograph by Antonis Achilleos

Source: http://m.foodnetwork.com/recipes/recipe/462973

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Fried, kosher, Mexican, Recipes, Seafood, Vegetable2

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

11 Comments on “The Ranting Chef’s World”

  1. April 26, 2013 at 11:11 am #

    I am most fortunate to have found you and thank you for sharing. And wish all those other folks from all those countries are finding you also.

    This recipe makes me hungry. I love fish tacos myself. When i first visited California and discovered these I was in heaven.

    Your slaw sounds absolutely awesome and cant wait to try it.

    Muchas gracias!

    Like

  2. April 26, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    Tortillas can also be heated in a toaster oven, under toast setting. .

    OR, in my favorite manner…over the fire — IF you are lucky to have a gas stove. The roasted corn flavor (arrived at from scorching it over fire) is absolutely the best! (I have an electric stove and must use the toaster oven method).

    Like

  3. April 26, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    You should make a recipe from each of those countries and see if it helps!

    Like

  4. April 26, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    I am ashamed to admit it but I have never made fish tacos…this must change!

    Like

  5. April 26, 2013 at 11:56 am #

    These look delicious, but those beer battered fish tacos are definitely something I’ve got to try!!

    Like

  6. April 26, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    You are making me hungry with these, I will definitely be trying them out. I like the sound of the beer batter, here in the UK proper Fish ‘n Chips fish is coated with beer batter and it is delicious! I love your enthusiasm for researching your readership 😉

    Like

  7. April 26, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

    The Internet and blogging is so amazing for staying connected with the world and them with you! I live in England and my mum lives in Kenya and she keeps up with my day to day goings on through my blog! It’s so great you have such a global readership! 🙂

    Like

  8. April 27, 2013 at 7:00 am #

    Thank you for following my blog so that i can discover your wonderful creations! I love them. Expect me to drop by often.

    Like

  9. April 27, 2013 at 9:43 am #

    Love tacos… Thank you…

    Like

  10. April 27, 2013 at 5:29 pm #

    Great recipe and a really good, healthy, (and quick) dinner. Sounds like a nice dish for a summer party…if you’re tired of the usual burger and hot dog fare. Cheers!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Love Me Some Salsa | Rantings of an Amateur Chef - February 26, 2015

    […] Baja Fish Tacos […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.