Guest Post: Maple Syrup Cupcakes

There are so many ways to make something sweet. Sugar is the king and the most common. You’ll see high fructose corn syrup or artificial sweeteners in a number of commercial goods. Honey and agave syrup are becoming more common in recipes but not much beats maple syrup. Here is a guest post from Jacinta. Take a look….

When I first made these cupcakes, I was pleasantly surprised at how simple and tasty they were. Made regular-sized ones, as well as mini-versions so I could share them with my colleagues. All of them enjoyed it, and loved the whiff of maple syrup – it reminded them of yummy breakfast pancakes. 😉

Since then, I’ve included this into Bren and my regular breakfast staples, and we love it warmed up each time. I like doing up an easy homemade (healthy) berries jam to go along with it as well, so that the tartness of the jam complements the simple cupcake – just mix a cup of your favourite berries + 1 tbsp of chia seeds + 1 tsp of honey and blend! Have it set overnight in the fridge. Naturally, this jam keeps best only within 3-5 days.

Baking can be so therapeutic, and when I can share the joy of it with others, it really makes my day!

p20131002-075019 copy - Featured Size

Maple Syrup Cupcakes

p20131002-074509
125g chopped butter, room temperature (1/2 cup)
1 cup self-raising flour
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/4 maple syrup
2 whole eggs
p20131002-074554
1. Place all ingredients into a large mixing bowl, and beat up till it is pale and smooth.
p20131002-074650
2. Bake in the oven at 180 degrees C for 15-20 mins, depending on the size of your cupcakes.
p20131002-074735
3. Serve warm, with your favorite tea! :)”
p20131002-074829

Jacinta (7)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Baking 2, Breakfast, Dessert, Guest, kosher, Recipes, Vegetarian

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

5 Comments on “Guest Post: Maple Syrup Cupcakes”

  1. October 12, 2013 at 11:14 am #

    Nothing like maple syrup! Thankfully, I live in the maple syrup capital of Canada. 🙂

    Like

    • October 15, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

      Uderdish, what do you consider the maple syrup capital of Canada is? I’m curious, as I to am Canadian!

      This recipe looks great….and I will definitely try it out as I love cupcakes. But where is the frosting? Would this not be considered a muffin, especially if you are eating it for breakfast with jam? 😉

      Like

      • October 17, 2013 at 7:43 am #

        I live in Lanark Country (rural Ottawa area) bordering Quebec. I see you’re from Nova Scotia – an absolute beautiful area of our country!

        Like

  2. July 1, 2015 at 7:06 am #

    I am about to pull these gems out of the oven. I finally made them and what better day then on Canada Day! Sharing with friends tonight!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. To love more fully… – cookiesrainandlove - October 12, 2013

    […] there’ll always be food in the house! One of it is our fav breakfast item so far – Maple Syrup cupcakes, nice & warm right out of the oven! Guest-posting it on RantingChef : do check it out! […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.