Product Review: Waring Pistol Vac

The Ranting Chef does not get paid or receive any revenue from manufactures or retailers of products reviewed. I occasionally receive products that I am asked to use and see what I think. I take a look, try them out and tell you all about them.

Photo Oct 07, 2 59 15 PM

You have to love product review days…

Photo Oct 07, 3 01 08 PM

Is is a drill? A gun? No, it is the Waring Pistol Vac.

Photo Oct 19, 10 21 36 AM

While I was aware of vacuum sealers, I was unaware of this kind.

Photo Oct 19, 10 21 41 AMWaring is a long time manufacture of professional quality kitchen products. In fact, they are credited for developing the first blender.

Photo Oct 19, 10 21 49 AM copy - Featured Size

The Waring Pistol Vac rests easily in its charging base. The base takes up very little counter space, unlike the typical sealers you normally see.

Photo Oct 20, 9 22 27 AM

How does it work? I’m glad you asked. The Waring Pistol Vac comes with sealing bags that contain a special valve. Note the white and red circle in the upper right of the bag? Here I put in a pound of hamburger into one of the smaller bags.

Photo Oct 20, 9 22 43 AM

Seal the top of the bag (like any disposable bag) and place the business end go the Pistol Vac to the seal. Pull the trigger and it sucks air from the bag through the valve in the bag.

Photo Oct 20, 9 23 48 AM

When you are done, all air has been removed.

Photo Oct 20, 9 24 35 AM

I took a name brand freezer bag and manually squeezed out air before I sealed it. Both contained hamburger from the same mega-pack that I broke down. Into the freezer they went.

Photo Oct 20, 9 28 59 AM

The large bag held a 2.5lb hunk of brisket. I sealed that and threw it into the freezer too.

Photo Oct 20, 9 44 49 AM

I also took a large pork loin and cut a smaller roast and a number of chops. So easy to seal. The Waring Pistol Vac was able to easily seal all of these with a single charge.

Photo Oct 22, 2 29 35 PM

I love fresh asparagus and generally roast or pan cook it. I really hate to boil the stalks as they get soggy and you lose so much flavor. The Waring Pistol Vac to the rescue. Here I sealed a bunch of asparagus (after slicing off the ends).

Photo Oct 22, 4 48 24 PM

I heated up a skillet full of water and dropped the bag in. The bags are designed to use in this manner. There is NO WAY I’d try this with a normal plastic bag.

Photo Oct 22, 4 54 14 PM

The asparagus was great. Beautifully green (not the washed out look of boiled asparagus), crisp and full of flavor.

Photo Oct 27, 8 48 54 PM

That pork roast? This was a week later. Notice how there is very little ice in there. The only place is the small indentations where I didn’t massage enough to get the air out. I simply thawed the roast in the fridge overnight and then unsealed the bad from the top to remove. The roast cooked up great.

Photo Oct 27, 8 48 38 PM

This picture really tells the tale. Those two pounds of hamburger – which one do you think survived better?

My Take: There is a lot to love with the Waring Pistol Vac. It is easy to use (seal the bag and pull the trigger), takes up very little space and helps to protect your food not only while in the freezer, fridge or pantry, but also gives you another viable cooking process. I was able to wash out the used bags (with soap and water) and dry them for re-use so I’m not burring through bags like you might expect. If you needed more bags, they are readily available. I recommend this product and have made space for it in my kitchen so I can get the most for my food dollar. Take a look at the Waring Pistol Vac. Find a retailer or online store that carries it here.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Product Reivews, Recipes

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

2 Comments on “Product Review: Waring Pistol Vac”

  1. November 13, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    I love your blog- very useful information – thank you Chef Elizabeth

    Like

  2. November 14, 2013 at 1:53 am #

    Nice little appliance, you might have tempted me! I am thinking about my home made muesli, could be just the ticket.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.