Marshmallow Fluff? Score!

When entertaining it can always be a challenge to meet the dietary needs of your guests. One common dichotomy is those that will eat anything tasty you make and those that are watching their waistlines.

Dessert really brings this issue to the forefront. Hitting the first group is easy. Cookies, brownies and so many other sugar filled mini bites are easy to think up and easy to make. Finding desserts that are good for a party (finger food or at least easy to eat when standing) and good for the waistline can be a bigger challenge.

At a recent party I hosted, I decided to offer a dessert that might fit the needs of both camps. I cut up quite a bit of fresh fruit (strawberries, cantaloupe, pineapple and apples) that is a generally healthy alternative. In addition, I decided to make a dip for those that want to be a little more indulgent.

With the orange liqueur and zest, it had a fruit flavor of its own.

Photo Dec 31, 11 51 27 AM (1)

The dip was light and tasty. I neglected to take a better pic during the party of the dip.

Photo Dec 31, 11 43 34 AM

I don’t buy marshmallow fluff very often. In fact, I think this was the second time I purchased it ever. Just as I was walking down the grocery store aisle looking at my list I got to the fluff and started wondering what aisle I’d find it in (baking…ice cream toppings…) and looked up and there it was. In a stand alone display at the end of the chips aisle, there it was. Score!

Fluffy Fruit Dip

Makes: 16

Ingredients:

  • 1 (7 ounce) jar marshmallow creme
  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 orange, zested
  • 1 fluid ounce orange liqueur

Directions:

1. In a large bowl, fold together the marshmallow creme and cream cheese.

2. Stir in grated zest and liqueur or juice. Refrigerate until chilled.

Nutritional Info:

NutritionAmount Per Serving (16 total) Calories 95 cal 5% Fat 4.9 g 8% Carbs 10.9 g 4% Protein 1.2 g 2% Cholesterol 15 mg 5% Sodium 51 mg 2% See More Based on a 2,000 calorie diet

Source: http://m.allrecipes.com/recipe/13766/recipefluffy-fruit-dip?prop24=RD_RelatedRecipes

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Alcohol, appetizer, Cheese3, Condiment, Dessert, Fruit 2, kosher, Vegetarian

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

2 Comments on “Marshmallow Fluff? Score!”

  1. November 24, 2013 at 11:05 am #

    This sounds really good! I love Fluff! 🙂 Fluffernutters were my favorite sandwich growing up.

    Like

  2. Lori M.
    November 25, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

    Aren’t marshmallows a food group? LOL

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.