Maggie Monday: Peanut Butter Ice Cream Topping

Cold weather does not mean en end to ice cream. In fact sales will often increase with the first coming snow storm as many people want to bundle up on their couch, binge watch on Netflix and have a big bowl of comfort. Here’s Maggie with some extra love for that bowl…

I decided to make ice cream toppings for Christmas goodie gifts this year since I couldn’t be on my feet much due to some surgery. I made Silky Hot Fudge sauce (posted earlier this year) and wanted a Peanut Butter topping to go with the chocolate. I tried a couple of recipes before settling upon this one that I tweaked and combined from several I found.

This is smooth, peanut-buttery, and not too sweet. It is a perfect match with the Hot Fudge over ice cream, or used to make a milkshake or smoothie. I think all of my recipients were pretty happy to receive these jars of joy!

Peanut butter was a particular hit here at home with Daughter #2 Picky Pants.

photo copy - Featured Size

Peanut Butter Ice Cream Topping

What you need:

½ cup heavy whipping cream

¼ cup sugar

¼ cup light Karo syrup

2 T butter

1 t vanilla

½ cup creamy peanut butter

What you do:

photo copy - Featured Size

Combine all ingredients except peanut butter and vanilla in saucepan over medium heat. Stir constantly until all ingredients are dissolved and blended. Remove from heat. Stir in vanilla. Let cool for about 5 minutes, then add peanut butter, and stir until smooth and well blended. Place into half pint canning jars. Makes 3-4 jars.

Maggie

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Condiment, Dessert, Guest-Maggie, kosher, Recipes, Vegetarian

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

5 Comments on “Maggie Monday: Peanut Butter Ice Cream Topping”

  1. January 27, 2014 at 11:13 am #

    Netflix and ice cream.

    You’re absolutely right and you’ve just described my weekend. I left my house in a blizzard to pick up an ice cream cone this past Friday. No regrets.

    Like

  2. January 27, 2014 at 2:13 pm #

    Oh my, I can’t get enough of peanut butter! Great recipe, definitely going to try it! 😀

    Like

  3. January 28, 2014 at 6:17 am #

    Ice cream is a year-round food! This looks delicious =D

    Like

  4. January 28, 2014 at 8:45 am #

    Yummy! I would be allllllllll over this! What a neat gift idea, as well. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  5. chrllrobb.blog
    January 28, 2014 at 8:43 pm #

    I love ice cream in the winter just as much as in the summer. This sounds so good. Saving to my Pinterest. Hope you are doing well after your surgery.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.