The Red Box

I think I first had French Bread pizza back in the late 1980’s. The red Stouffer’s box was opened and into the oven went the pre-made foot long halves of French bread covered with a pasty sauce, frozen cheese and pepperoni slices for some reason cut into quarters. It came out of the oven hot and crispy and was fantastic (for frozen pizza). It was such a unique idea at the time.

For the next 25 years or so, French Bread pizza meant that same red box. Whether I bought the box with two “slices” or the larger box with quite a few more, it was always Stouffers. I hadn’t even thought to try to make it on my own. Until now.

Photo Apr 20, 12 13 19 PM

Much better than frozen as the bread was crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. The sausage had great flavor too.

Photo Apr 20, 11 47 57 AM

Nothing complex about it.

Photo Apr 20, 12 00 05 PM

Fry the sausage.

Photo Apr 20, 12 00 35 PM

Slice and cut the bread so it fits on your cookie sheet. Spread a thin layer of pizza sauce on top.

Photo Apr 20, 12 03 42 PM

I made two with sausage (and had lots of sausage left over) and two with pepperoni that I didn’t cut into quarters!

Photo Apr 20, 12 13 13 PM

Delicious! I can’t fathom why it took me so long to make it myself.

Sausage French Bread Pizza

Prep Time: 15 M | Cook Time: 5 M | Makes: 20 pieces

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound Bob Evans® Original Recipe Sausage Roll
  • 1 French baguette (about 20 inches long)
  • 1/2 cup pizza sauce
  • 1 cup shredded Italian style cheese
  • 2 ounces sliced pepperoni

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Crumble and cook sausage in medium skillet until brown. Set aside. Slice baguette in half lengthwise. Place halves on a baking sheet. Spread with sauce. Top with cheese, sausage and pepperoni. Bake for 5 minutes or until cheese is melted. Cut into 2 inch pieces.

PREP 15 mins

COOK 5 mins

READY IN 20 min

Nutritional Info:

Calories 175 kcal 9%
Carbohydrates 13.6 g 4%
Cholesterol 20 mg 7%
Fat 9.3 g 14%
Fiber 0.6 g 3%
Protein 7.2 g 14%
Sodium 462 mg 18%

Source: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/sausage-french-bread-pizza/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Cheese2, French, Lunch2, Pork2, Recipes, snack

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

One Comment on “The Red Box”

  1. January 29, 2014 at 8:14 pm #

    Great idea! I loved those growing up!, I never thought to make my home. Yumm!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.