Things I Ate In College

Several years ago, a site called Endless Simmer posted a top 10 list of “Things I Ate in College That I’ll Never Eat Again“.  Here is the list and my commentary.

10 – Bread in a can – Never seen it. Never heard of it. Would have never tried it. Ever.

9 – Spray Butter – WHAT?!?! How can this be on the list? There is no invention better for corn on the cob than spray butter. I don’t use it for anything else, but it is the most perfect delivery system for butter to corn.

8 – Congealed Nachos – Nachos are like pizza. Good when fresh and hot. Good when cold and congealed. While I would not strategically seek out congealed nachos, if the mostly finished appetizer dish is still sitting there long after dinner is complete and the dining group is having a good time drinking and talking, I’d grab a chip with cold, congealed cheese and very happily slide it into my mouth.

7 – Copiously Frosted Fast Food Desserts – Hmmm. I cannot say that I order fast food desserts. Maybe an occasional McDonald’s apple pie (but that is not frosted). If you want to go to a Cinnabon, then we have another argument. When I have four hours in an airport while changing planes and the Cinnabon is there, I cannot say that I won’t stop by and get me a mini-bon. Isn’t that travel law??

6 – Frozen Broccoli in Canned Cheese Soup – I have a beef with the frozen broccoli part. Flash frozen veggies are the next best thing to fresh and identical from a health standpoint. As far as cheese soup, I have used that in cooking, but would not pour it over broccoli. That is what Velveeta is for!!!

5 – Olestra Chips – Are these still on the market? They had a quick run (and made you quickly run).

4 – Flaming Shots – I never had one of these in college and not sure I’ve had one since. I guess I don’t see the benefit to have burning alcohol splashing around my head.

3 – Ice Cream for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner – I have to admit that it was dinner once or twice. Not on the menu these days, but worth thinking about.

2 – 2 for $1 Jack in the Box tacos – There wasn’t a Jack in the Box by my school (The Ohio State University) but we did have a convenience store that served $0.25 hot dogs. That was late night food for poor college students. I could do that again in a pinch. No problem.

1 – Kraft Mac and Cheese made with Strawberry Yogurt – I think you have to be seriously messed-up to even try this. Why ruin a perfectly good box of M&C by even trying. Strawberry and nuclear orange powder just don’t go together.

Photo Jul 19, 5 44 15 PM

This recipe reminds me of a great college-age dish. Great flavor and not too much health!

Photo Jul 19, 4 38 14 PM

Your typical “taco” type ingredients.

Photo Jul 19, 5 03 41 PM

Fry the ground meat, peppers and onions.

Photo Jul 19, 5 03 47 PM

Mixing the cheese topping.

Photo Jul 19, 5 12 20 PM

Layered and blurry…

Photo Jul 19, 5 14 27 PM

A peek into the oven.

Photo Jul 19, 5 39 57 PM

A nice melt to the cheese.

Photo Jul 19, 5 42 24 PM

I added the avocado on the side my youngest would draw from.

Photo Jul 19, 5 44 21 PM

A good alternative to tacos.

Deep-Dish Taco Squares

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups Bisquick
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 lb. ground beef
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1/8 tsp. garlic powder
  • 8 oz. can tomato sauce
  • 1 1/4 oz. pkg. taco seasoning mix
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1/3 cup Miracle Whip
  • 1/4 tsp. paprika
  • Garnishes: sour cream, chopped tomatoes, chopped lettuce, chopped onion

Directions:

Mix Bisquick and water; spread in a lightly greased 13×9″ baking pan. Bake, uncovered, at 375 for 9 minutes; remove from oven and set aside. Brown ground beef, green pepper, onion and garlic powder in a large skillet; drain and stir in tomato sauce and taco seasoning mix. Spread mixture over crust. Stir together cheese, sour cream and Miracle Whip; spoon over beef mixture and sprinkle with paprika. Bake, uncovered, at 375 for 25 more minutes. Cut into squares; garnish with sour cream, tomatoes, lettuce, and onion.

Source: http://randomcookbooks.blogspot.com/2011/08/deep-dish-taco-squares.html?m=1

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Beef, Cheese2, Mexican, Recipes

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

5 Comments on “Things I Ate In College”

  1. foodnowyes
    February 4, 2014 at 12:08 pm #

    Hilarious! Thank you for the smile today.

    Like

  2. February 4, 2014 at 12:38 pm #

    haha, nothing made the list except for “Ice cream for breakfast, lunch or dinner”, I did have a soft ice cream swirl for breakfast, Ooops that’s bad, well it certainly tasted good at the time! 😀

    Like

  3. February 4, 2014 at 1:47 pm #

    For me, it was pizza and whatever I could scrounge up from the vending machine downstairs when needed. But the campus cafeterias were easy to reach so I did a lot of salads, sandwiches and yogurt too.

    My favorite beverage was ice tea with a small amount of apple juice. I called it “apple tea”.

    Like

  4. February 5, 2014 at 11:12 am #

    I love Jack In The Box tacos, always have, always will. It’s probably good for me that there are no J in the B restaurants on the East Coast. 😉

    Like

  5. February 5, 2014 at 8:33 pm #

    I ate well in college thanks to the lovely ladies at the campus cafe.

    $2 (taxes in) got you a huge bowl of soup and bread of the day, a refill on your travel mug and water bottle, and a pat of real butter.

    Cream and sugar were extra so I started drinking my coffee black =p

    Good memories.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.