Product Review: Re-Pac Bags

The Ranting Chef does not get paid or receive any revenue from manufactures or retailers of products reviewed. I occasionally receive products that I am asked to use and see what I think. I take a look, try them out and tell you all about them.

Recently, I was able to cover the 2014 International Home and Housewares show in Chicago as a media representative from the blogging community. While there I was able to spend some time at a number of booths and see some really interesting products. This product was being displayed at the show.

Photo Apr 03, 6 33 12 PM

A bag from Re-Pac Bags?

Photo Apr 03, 6 33 21 PM

Inside was a collection of six Re-Pac bags. These are reusable containers that have a resealable spout intended to hold liquids. Each bag holds 6oz of liquids and are BPA free.

Photo Apr 07, 6 20 09 PM

The top has a tight zip that opens to allow you to fill it with the liquid of your choice. It is ideal for breaking down large containers of juice or applesauce into individual containers on the go. Here I decided to make a blender full of smoothies.

Photo Apr 07, 6 20 41 PM

Once filled, zip the top closed.

Photo Apr 07, 6 24 50 PM - Featured Size

All six were filled and placed into the freezer as they are freezer safe.

Photo Apr 09, 12 47 54 PM

I put one into my lunch bag the next day with my lunch and a few ice packs. I took it out close to lunch and after about 15 minutes it was ready to drink.

Photo Apr 09, 12 48 31 PM

Unscrew the cap and have a go. I started with the side drinking method. This worked as I was able to squeeze the pouch and the smoothie flowed through the spout.

Photo Apr 09, 12 52 46 PM

I also tried a straw and held it on its side. Both worked well.

Photo Apr 11, 7 57 46 AM

To clean the bags you can either wash by hand or place in the top shelf of the dishwasher. I recommend that you expand the bottom of the bag like the one on the right as it will get clean where the one on the left was too closed up and did not.

My Take: I would have not thought of a re-usable pouch but glad that Re-Pac did. I can see these pouches are perfect for families who care about the environment that want to save some money by buying in bulk. As today is Tax Day here in the United States, we all could economize a bit. Ideal for those with small children (juice, applesauce, homemade baby food), it works well for us adults too (smoothies, take a frozen margarita to a picnic, use as travel packs for shampoo and conditioner). The spouts separate these from many other options out there, making it much easier to drink directly out of the pouch without risk of a big spill. Take a look at Re-Pac’s website or Facebook page for more information.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Product Reivews, Recipes

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

2 Comments on “Product Review: Re-Pac Bags”

  1. Lori M.
    April 15, 2014 at 11:49 am #

    Interesting idea. I have purchased prepacked applesauce/fruit combos for my toddler but I would consider buying these to make my own. They are very convenient for little ones, but very expensive. Making my own would be a great (and ecofriendly) alternative. Just have to be sure to give the toddler the applesauce and not the frozen margaritas 🙂 Are these available on the market yet?

    Like

  2. April 16, 2014 at 9:20 am #

    These look really cool! My kids like the squeeze applesauce pouches, but they are pricey. I’d definitely consider these!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.