Maggie Monday: Key Lime Pie

I’ve only tried to make key lime pie once. I was in high school and didn’t know that key limes were different from the limes I found at the grocery store. Let’s just say it was kinda inedible. Luckily Maggie didn’t make that mistake too. Here she is…

Most of you know by now that I grew up in Ohio, and am a child of the 60’s and 70’s. I don’t think I heard of Key Lime Pie until I was in my 30’s. What a sad thing to consider now. I lived three decades of my life missing one of the best desserts on the planet. I guess now I just have to make up for it by having Key Lime Pie whenever I can. Seems fair to me. But only the real deal!

I don’t make Key Lime Pie at home often, and when I have done so in the past, I have purchased a prepared bottle of Key Lime juice from the supermarket and followed the directions on the bottle. Meh. It’s fine, but not that amazing citrus-y love fest that is a homemade pie from a tropical place

I was in the market this week and noticed a bag of key limes. I impulsively tossed them into my basket. The hunt began for the right recipe. This one from All Recipes had great reviews, so it was the winner. The original recipe did not call for egg yolks, but I wanted a firm custard, and opted to add this ingredient

A winner it is! Just 6 ingredients, and easy prep. The hardest work is zesting and juicing about 20 itsy bitsy wee little key limes. That took longer than everything else combined. But totally worth the effort. The pie was creamy, firm and bursting with tart lime flavor.

I took this pie to a horse show, and once we cut it I had three strangers come up and ask me if they could have a piece because they heard it was so good. That’s what I get for feeding the announcer! Sorry the photos are poor- these are from ringside at a horse show, so everything is portable.

 Key Lime Pie

IMG_2321 - Featured Size

What you need:1 (9 inch) prepared graham cracker crust

3 cups sweetened condensed milk

½ cup sour cream

¾ cup key lime juice (about 20 limes)

2 egg yolks (do not use the whites)

1 Tbs grated lime zest

 

What you do:

 

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
2. In a medium bowl, combine condensed milk, sour cream, lime juice, egg yolks, and lime rind. Mix well and pour into graham cracker crust.IMG_2319
3. Bake in preheated oven for 10-15 minutes, until tiny pinhole bubbles burst on the surface of pie. DO NOT BROWN! Chill pie thoroughly before serving. Garnish with lime slices and whipped cream if desired.

 

Maggie

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Dessert 2, Fruit 2, Guest-Maggie, kosher, Recipes, Vegetarian

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

7 Comments on “Maggie Monday: Key Lime Pie”

  1. September 15, 2014 at 11:26 am #

    Oh, yum. I am not normally a pie fan (ducking from thrown weapons from pie lovers…) but I love key lime. Oh, and lemon meringue, Pie is just usually too sweet for me – 😦

    Like

  2. September 15, 2014 at 11:50 am #

    Yummy! I seriously think that key lime pie is my favourite dessert. This recipe seems devilishly simple despite the fact that juicing itsy bitsy key limes is a pain.

    Like

  3. September 15, 2014 at 12:37 pm #

    Key lime pie! The best…..thanks for sharing your recipe!! The whip cream on top is dreamy! 🙂

    Like

  4. Jeany Rahayu
    September 16, 2014 at 12:20 am #

    Looks super yummy!

    Like

  5. September 16, 2014 at 1:02 am #

    pies.. never tried making them… but your story is beautiful…

    http://noodles4thoughts.wordpress.com/

    Like

  6. September 16, 2014 at 11:25 am #

    Mmmmmmm, always wanted to make this!

    Like

  7. chrllrobb.blog
    October 9, 2014 at 10:41 pm #

    Looks soooo good! I may have to copy the recipe. Thanks! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.