Maggie Monday: Tomato Bacon Cups

Pairings…Fred Astaire and Ginger Rodgers….sunglasses and the beach….tomato and bacon. You have to love that tomato-bacon flavor. It just works. Maggie proves it again below…

Well, these were fun! I needed something to take to a casual event outside and was looking for something different, and finger food-y. Didn’t want to mess with utensils.

I know this is gonna sound crazy, but I omitted the bacon (I know, I know!) due to the fact there were vegetarians in the group. These were quite yummy, and the bacon would make them even better, from my bacon-loving perspective. However, they were delicious without the pig. And, they were good cold. Better warm, but just fine cold! Gobbled up by all aged 2 to 52!

Aren’t they cute?

IMG_2338 - Featured Size

Tomato Bacon Cups

What you need:

1 tomato, finely chopped and seeded

½ cup mayonnaise

½ cup bacon, crisp, chopped

½ cup Swiss cheese, shredded

1 small onion, finely chopped

1 tsp dried basil

1 tube (12 ounces) refrigerated biscuits

 

What you do:

In a large bowl combine the tomato, mayonnaise, bacon, cheese, onion and basil. Set aside.

 

Cut each biscuit into thirds, flatten each piece and press into an ungreased miniature muffin cup pan.

 

Spoon tomato mixture into cups Bake at 450° for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. Run a knife around the edge of each cup to remove from pan. Serve warm.

Maggie

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: appetizer, Baking3, Cheese3, Guest-Maggie, Pork2, Recipes, Sidedish2

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

4 Comments on “Maggie Monday: Tomato Bacon Cups”

  1. September 22, 2014 at 11:03 am #

    Hmmm 🙂 yummy!

    Like

  2. September 22, 2014 at 5:38 pm #

    I love things like this – ‘quick, easy & good’ !!! I can see how they’d still be good minus the ‘pig’ !! Here’s something ‘quick, easy & good’ which uses similar ingredients. Lightly toast some bread, place on some crispy bacon, a few slices of tomato and a slice of cheese. I like Swiss. I also like to sprinkle on a bit of oregano. Broil just until the cheese melts. I hate to admit it but I smear on some mayo once it’s ready…. I simply love these and they make a great quick lunch or dinner, if you add a side salad. Well – going to PIN this – as I always do!! ; o )

    Like

  3. September 23, 2014 at 11:05 pm #

    I need to try these! They look yummy!

    Like

  4. jetr1
    September 24, 2014 at 9:46 pm #

    Can I substitute the cheese for jar cheese?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.