Ready to Grill

I’ve talked a number of times about how I prepare a menu for a week at a time. This gives me advantages in several different ways.

The first, which I’ve mentioned before, is that I don’t have to think up what to make on the spot. That can be more exhausting than the actual cooking.

Second, once I make the menu, I shop for all I need for the whole week. I know I have the ingredients on hand to make it.

Third, with shopping once a week, I am not constantly running to the grocery store.

Lastly, it allows me to make those dishes that need advanced preparation. For instance, the one below asks you to marinate the chicken 3-12 hours. I did mine the night before and the chicken was ready to go to the grill when I got home from work!

Grilled Basil-Marinated Chicken

Photo Feb 27, 5 49 28 PM - Featured Size

I think I was so excited to dig into this chicken that I didn’t hold the camera still!

Photo Feb 26, 6 28 30 PM

It is a very simple recipe. I used multi-colored peppercorns as I feel they add a more complex flavor.

Photo Feb 26, 6 33 20 PM

Marinade is mixed.

Photo Feb 27, 5 49 10 PM

Part of this delicious dinner.

Photo Feb 27, 5 49 13 PM

Yum!

Grilled Basil-Marinated Chicken

prep 15 mins ∙ cook 15 min ∙ makes 4 servings ∙ difficulty Easy ∙ source Eating Stella Style

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon chopped basil leaves, plus 4 sprigs for garnish
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped red onion
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon whole black peppercorns
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (about 2 pounds)

DIRECTIONS

Whisk together the oil, vinegar, basil, onion, salt, peppercorns, and garlic in a bowl. Transfer the marinade to a gallon-sized sealable plastic bag with the chicken and shake to combine. Refrigerate for at least 3 hours and up to 12 hours.

When ready to cook, build a charcoal fire or preheat gas grill.

Remove chicken from the marinade. Grill the chicken, turning once, until browned and just cooked through, about 4 minutes per side. Transfer the chicken to a platter and garnish with the basil sprigs.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Chicken2, Grilled, kosher, Low Carb, Main Dish 3, Picnic, Recipes

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

One Comment on “Ready to Grill”

  1. keithbawden
    October 7, 2014 at 1:20 pm #

    This looks yummy, beats my chicken soup

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.