Product Review: Circulon Silicone Steamer

The Ranting Chef does not get paid or receive any revenue from manufactures or retailers of products reviewed. I occasionally receive products that I am asked to use and see what I think. I take a look, try them out and tell you all about them.

Not too long ago, I was sent the Circulon 6 Quart Steamer Insert to take a look at. Most dinners that I cook are accompanied by some sort of steamed vegetables, so I was excited to give it a go.

Photo Oct 24, 11 01 40 AM - Featured Size

The Circulon 6 Quart Steamer Insert is a silicone molded basket designed to sit in many standard pot sixes (it fits into four of my pots). With the ridges on the bottom, it is designed to elevate the bottom of the basket out of the water if it happens to resin on the bottom. The large handles on the sides make it easy to lift out of a pot and the ridge around the edge helps it rest on the lip of many pots.

Photo Oct 24, 11 01 32 AM

Because it is made of silicone, it collapses for easy storage.

Photo Oct 24, 2 58 11 PM

Time to give it a go and into the pot. In this case it fit snug as a glove.

Photo Oct 24, 3 00 18 PM

I added water, the broccoli went in and the lid went on top.

Photo Oct 24, 5 12 44 PM

I love steaming veggies because it doesn’t require any attention except to turn it off once properly steamed.

Photo Oct 24, 5 19 16 PM

The insert easily lifts from the pan and turns into a serving dish. Because it is silicone, the heat dissipates (unlike one made of metal).

Photo Oct 24, 5 22 55 PM

What I love the most about this is it is dishwasher safe.

MY TAKE: A kitchen is not complete unless you can steam veggies (or other things like Chinese buns, etc…). There is everything to like about the Circulon 6 Quart Steamer Insert. It is easy to use, store and clean and very likely fits into one or more pots you have already. As many people have either a collection of different pots and pans or their set did not include a steamer, this is a great addition. Selling for around $20, the Circulon 6 Quart Steamer Insert is the perfect gift for anyone who is looking to eat healthier (now or in the new year). Purchase it here.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Product Reivews, Tools

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

3 Comments on “Product Review: Circulon Silicone Steamer”

  1. December 9, 2014 at 11:19 am #

    Interesting! Both my Chinese bamboo steamer and foldable metal steamer are coming to the ends of their usable lives, and this is something I’d seriously consider. Thanks for the tip.

    Like

  2. December 9, 2014 at 3:04 pm #

    This does seem very reasonable and love the brightness of this. It would make an excellent gift, but will have to say my brother and son, our main family cooks/chefs have their own metal steamer, along with a plastic one for the microwave… I had to say this was a great idea, anyway! Smiles, Robin

    Like

  3. December 11, 2014 at 1:36 am #

    Love it – I want one for Christmas!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.