Sunday Rewind: Being a Jerk About Pineapple

Jerk Pork Chops with Grilled Pineapple….- Originally posted April 26, 2012

As The Rantings of an Amateur Chef has been going since February of 2012, there are quite a few readers that have joined along the way. In an effort to bring back some great recipes that they may have missed, I will dedicate Sundays to re-posting a favorite that is at least two years old. I hope you enjoy! – The Ranting Chef

I have been grilling pineapple for as long as I had a grill. It used to be opening up a can of the rings and throw them on the grill. Too often they would find their way through the grate and forever lost in the netherworld between flame and perfection. They ended up in grilling purgatory. Those that were lucky enough to survive the slide, I often cooked too much of the moisture out of them.

At some point I started buying fresh pineapple for my grilling. Wow. What a difference! I cut the pineapple thick for several reasons.  First off, there is no way they are getting through the grill. Second, the thickness allows it to heat up, get a nice set of grill lines, but also to remain juicy. My eldest would spend an extra day in school if promised all he could eat grilled pineapple.

While the pineapple is the side, it very much compliments the main dish of Jerk Pork. When I told a friend I was making Jerk pork, I was asked what was in the Jerk seasoning. I could describe the flavor but couldn’t come up with all of the spices. For the record it is allspice, hot peppers, cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg, garlic and salt.

A few slices of grilled red pepper and a stuffed jalapeno are great compliments to the dish.

The recipe calls for miniature pineapples, but I just used one big one.

I use more lime zest than the recipe calls for. In fact I zested most of the lime.

Love grilling weather.

Beautiful!

I start by cutting off the top and bottom of the pineapple. I then quarter it and cut out the core. Taking a boning knife, I then remove the flesh from the outside.

It is a big hunk of pineapple and the whole fruit can easily serve 8.

Jerk Pork Chops with Grilled Pineapple

Prep Time: 15 mins |  Cook Time: 15 min  | Servings: 4 | Difficulty: easy

Ingredients:

  • 1 baby pineapple
  • 1/2 regular pineapple, (can be substituted for above ingredient)
  • 1 lime
  • 2 tablespoon(s) jerk seasoning
  • 1 tablespoon(s) olive oil
  • 4 pork loin chops, 3/4 inch thick, about 8 ounces each with bone
  • Lime wedges and cilantro sprigs , for garnish

Directions:

1. With sharp knife, cut pineapple lengthwise through crown to stem end in 4 wedges, leaving on leafy crown.

2. From lime, grate 1/2 teaspoon peel and squeeze 1 tablespoon juice. In small bowl, mix lime peel and juice with jerk seasoning and oil. Rub both sides of pork chops with jerk mixture.

3. Place pork chops on hot grill rack over medium heat; cook 10 to 12 minutes, turning chops over once, until browned on the outside and still slightly pink on the inside. While chops are cooking, add pineapple wedges, cut sides down, to same grill; cook 5 minutes, turning wedges over once. Transfer chops and pineapple to same platter. Garnish with lime wedges and cilantro sprigs.

Source: http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/recipefinder/jerk-pork-chops-grilled-pineapple-806?click=recipe_sr

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Grilled, Low Carb, Pork, Recipes

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

4 Comments on “Sunday Rewind: Being a Jerk About Pineapple”

  1. April 26, 2015 at 1:39 pm #

    Yum! This looks absolutely delicious.

    Like

  2. April 26, 2015 at 3:14 pm #

    I love grilling and I even enjoyed it over the winter months. This looks fantastic! 😄

    Like

  3. April 26, 2015 at 4:43 pm #

    Oh, yum!

    Like

  4. pollopicu
    April 27, 2015 at 7:24 pm #

    I could go for a juicy pork chop right about now.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.