A Gourmet Club Recipe – Made

I’ve mentioned a number of times about the gourmet club that I am in. For details about what all that is, take a look here.

I’ve had a lot of great dishes at our club dinners and while I collect the recipes, I’ve only made a few of them afterwards. I’m not sure why. Maybe because I post them here when I have them the first time. Maybe I don’t want to spoil the memory of the great dish I had at the club. Maybe I’m just lazy. Who knows.

This is one, though, that I did make. My brother-in-law had made this awesome salad after he had it at a local restaurant, J. Alexander’s.

J. Alexander’s Wild Rice and Orzo Salad

Photo Dec 10, 5 09 53 PM - Featured Size

Despite the orzo and rice, it is a surprisingly light dish and full of summer flavors.

Photo Dec 10, 4 39 15 PM

I subbed in some white rice and it worked just as well.

Photo Dec 10, 5 10 10 PM

Make this tonight. You won’t regret it!

J. Alexander’s Wild Rice and Orzo Salad

Ingredients:

4 cups cooked Orzo*
3 cups cooked Wild Rice*
1/2 cup chopped Parsley
6 tablespoons Red Onion, diced small
6 tablespoons Currants
1 ear of Corn, cooked and kernels removed
1 small Green, Red and Yellow Peppers, diced small
Dressing:
1 cup of good olive oil
1/4 cup sweet white balsamic vinegar
3 tablespoons honey
1/2 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon fresh basil or 1 tablespoon fresh basil {minced}
6 tablespoons slivered Almonds {optional}
1 teaspoon Kosher Salt
1 teaspoon Black Pepper

Directions:

For the dressing: Place all the ingredients in a mixing bowl, except the olive oil. Stir until blended and then while whisking the dressing slowly pour the olive oil in a steady stream. Refrigerate.

Cook the orzo and wild rice according to package directions, shock in cold water and then refrigerate.

Put all ingredients into a large mixing bowl and toss with the dressing.

Refrigerate for at least an hour or two so the dressing can soak into the ingredients!

*When I was making the wild rice and the orzo, I used 2 cups uncooked wild rice and a whole 1 lb box of orzo, I did have some remaining, but you can just save it for another dinner later in the week!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Gourmet Club, kosher, Picnic, Recipes, Salad, vegan, Vegetable4, Vegetarian

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

2 Comments on “A Gourmet Club Recipe – Made”

  1. August 25, 2015 at 11:05 am #

    This looks awesome – I would love this!

    Like

  2. Daniel Liggett
    August 25, 2015 at 11:34 pm #

    Definitely a keeper…I love this one too…glad you made it again.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.