Product Review: Rose Beranbaum’s All American Pie Kit and Mini Roller

The Ranting Reviewer does not get paid or receive any revenue from manufacturers or retailers of products reviewed. I occasionally receive products that I am asked to use and see what I think. I take a look, try them out and tell you all about them.

Photo Mar 11, 9 13 35 PM - Featured Size

Several weeks ago I received a package from Rose Levy Beranbaum.

Photo Mar 11, 9 13 20 PM - Featured Size

Inside was Rose’s All American Pie Kit and Mini-Roller. Let’s take a look.

Photo Mar 11, 9 15 32 PM - Featured Size

The All American Pie Kit contains a non-stick pastry mat, a non-stick roller and 3 sets of Fast Tracks pastry guides.

Photo Mar 11, 9 18 04 PM - Featured Size

If you haven’t used pastry guides before these work great. They are silicone strips and each set is a different thickness (3/32″ for pies, â…›” for cookies and 1/16″ for tarts). You lay them out on the edges of your mat and when you roll the roller over them they keep the roller at a constant distance from the mat giving you a consistent thickness of your dough.

Photo Mar 11, 9 19 02 PM - Featured Size

Rose provides great information on the mat on making pastry dough. In fact, I decided to use the information on the mat to make a pie.

Photo Mar 12, 2 35 25 PM - Featured Size

I followed the instructions on ingredients and made the dough (and let it rest). Time to roll it out.

Photo Mar 12, 2 37 42 PM - Featured Size

The guides make it easy. After I rolled it one way, I simply rotated the dough on the mat (it did not stick), and rolled it the other way.

Photo Mar 12, 2 39 26 PM - Featured Size

Once the right thickness, I used the mat’s guide to form my circle.

Photo Mar 12, 2 40 17 PM - Featured Size

In the pie plate.

Photo Mar 12, 2 51 33 PM - Featured Size

I decided to lattice the top. As I am not much of a baker, it may not be perfect, but I impressed myself. The tools make it easy.

Photo Mar 12, 2 56 40 PM - Featured Size

The Mini-Roller is just the right size for tarts, cookies and other small pastries.

Photo Mar 12, 3 45 42 PM - Featured Size

Proof positive of the pie!

My Take: If you are a regular baker or an occasional one (or even one who rarely bakes like me), these tools make it easy to make your dough. The mat, aided by a little flour, was non-stick and allowed me to rotate the dough vs the Fast Tracks. The pins also kept the dough from sticking. The Fast Track rails really helped me. I have never been good at getting the right thickness for dough. Sometimes it is way too thin but often it is much too thick. With the Fast Tracks, this will never be a problem again. I recommend the Mini-Roller and the All American Pie Kit. You can purchase them here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Kitchen and Bar, Product Reivews

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.