No Seafood or Rice? Really?

I was skeptical about this recipe.

Jambalaya, in my mind, needs to have five basic ingredients: chopped tomatoes, shrimp or crawfish, sausage, Cajun seasonings and rice. This recipe was missing two of the five. I’ve often had it with ham in place of sausage or with chicken added, but never without seafood or rice.

Photo Jan 07, 5 30 36 PM

I liked how simple this recipe was so I decided to give it a go anyway.

Photo Jan 06, 8 45 54 PM

No seafood or rice here.

Photo Jan 06, 8 59 00 PM

Like many slow cooker recipes, you start off by browning the meat before putting it into the pot.

Photo Jan 06, 9 05 16 PM

Throw everything else in.

Photo Jan 07, 5 30 29 PM

I did end up serving it over white rice (I didn’t have a dirty rice mix on hand) and it was very good. Next time I might throw some shrimp in at the end and let them cook from the surrounding heat for five to ten minutes.

Crock Pork Jambalaya

Cook Time: 7 hrs | Makes: Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 4 pork chops, cut into 1″ cubes
  • 1/2 pound turkey kielbasa, sliced
  • 1 14.5-oz.  can diced tomatoes, with juice
  • 1/2 medium green bell pepper, deribbed, deseeded and chopped
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon Cajun seasoning
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 medium stalk celery, chopped

Directions:

In a skillet, heat olive oil; salt and pepper the pork chops and brown evenly on all sides. Place the browned pork at the bottom of the crock pot, then add remaining ingredients. Cook on low for 7 hours.

Source: https://community.tasteofhome.com/forums/AddPost.aspx?ReplyToPostID=1930822

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Cajun, Low Carb, Pork, Recipes, Slow Cooker

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

4 Comments on “No Seafood or Rice? Really?”

  1. May 7, 2013 at 11:11 am #

    awesome ..thanks a lot for sharing dear…yummy

    Like

  2. May 7, 2013 at 11:43 am #

    Looks delightful and I love these kind of recipes. This is one of my favorite.

    Like

  3. May 7, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

    Looks so good! I can see how it felt strange w/o shrimp, but looks like it stood up. I’d toss in shrimp also….Love me some shrimp

    Like

  4. May 7, 2013 at 3:45 pm #

    love me some good jambalaya–thanks for a not-overly-complicated recipe! Looks great. Making it in the slow cooker is bonus for sure.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.