Cooking with (Root) Beer

I regularly cook with beer.

Many chilis that I make are made with a bottle of beer (or part of one and I get to finish off the rest). Beer is a great marinade for brats before grilling them. There is a beer brined turkey breast that I just love. In every one of those cases the beer I cook with contains alcohol and made with barley and hops. This recipe, however, is made with an entirely different kind of beer: one from the root.

Photo Jan 28, 5 32 46 PM

It really sounds a little strange but the root beer works here. You retain some of the taste, but it is not overpowering and works with the other ingredients.

Photo Jan 27, 9 32 01 PM

I bought the 2 liter of root beer just for this recipe. After putting it into the cart, and knowing I’d have quite a bit left over, I decided to buy some vanilla ice cream to make root beer floats. The in-laws came over for dinner and after making a bunch of floats I looked at the bottle and had just enough left for this recipe. You have to like it when a plan works out.

Photo Jan 27, 9 37 14 PM

The pork in the slow cooker.

Photo Jan 28, 4 58 05 PM

Making the sauce.

Photo Jan 28, 5 06 49 PM

Time to start shredding. This just fell apart and was so easy to shred.

Photo Jan 28, 5 17 12 PM

Back in the pot.

Photo Jan 28, 5 32 39 PM

Heavenly!

Pork Sandwiches with Root Beer Barbecue Sauce Recipe

Prep Time: 30 min | Cook Time: 9-1/2 hours | Makes: 8 Servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 boneless pork sirloin roast (2 pounds)
  • 1 medium onion, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons dried minced garlic
  • 3 cups root beer, divided
  • 1 bottle (12 ounces) chili sauce
  • 1/8 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
  • 8 kaiser rolls, split

Directions:

Place roast in a 3-qt. slow cooker. Add the onion, garlic and 1 cup root beer. Cover and cook on low for 9-10 hours or until meat is tender.

In a small saucepan, combine the chili sauce, hot pepper sauce and remaining root beer. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 20-25 minutes or until thickened.

Remove meat from slow cooker; cool slightly. Discard cooking juices. Shred pork with two forks and return to slow cooker. Stir in barbecue sauce. Cover and cook on low for 30 minutes or until heated through. Serve on rolls. Yield: 8 servings.

Source: http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Pork-Sandwiches-with-Root-Beer-Barbecue-Sauce

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Beer, Low Carb, Lunch2, Pork, Recipes, Slow Cooker

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

11 Comments on “Cooking with (Root) Beer”

  1. jocelynd123
    May 24, 2013 at 11:04 am #

    YUM. I am all over beverages cooked into meats.

    Like

  2. May 24, 2013 at 11:07 am #

    This looks sensational. I am now wondering what other concoctions I could put with pulled pork…

    Like

  3. May 24, 2013 at 11:17 am #

    This looks delicious! I wonder how a hard (spiked) root beer would work…you’d get the best of both worlds! Sprecher Brewery has a wonderful root beer you’ve probably heard of, but they just came out with a fantastic hard root beer that’s been an instant hit around here! (No, I don’t work for them.) :p

    Like

  4. Margie
    May 24, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    We like pulled pork and don’t keep alcohol in our house, so this is a great recipe!

    Like

  5. May 24, 2013 at 12:47 pm #

    I made a beef roast in the slow cooker using Coca Cola as the cooking fluid. So I’m not surprise that Root Beer worked here – really nice! And the Root Beer Floats were a great idea.

    Like

  6. May 24, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

    I love making pulled pork but I really don’t think I could do the root beer…it just doesn’t sound appetizing. The root beer floats–well that is a no brainer!

    Like

  7. May 25, 2013 at 1:05 am #

    I have to send this to my wife! I love rootbeer, and when we travel to different parts of the country I love trying the local brands!

    Like

  8. May 25, 2013 at 2:22 am #

    Great Use of the left over rootbeer after the grand children visit. My friend uses it as a marinade on her hams.

    Like

  9. May 31, 2013 at 7:47 am #

    I’m smacking my lips over this one imagining the tangy flavor of the root beer and chili sauce.

    Like

  10. June 12, 2013 at 9:59 am #

    Hi there, How’s it going? Just shared this post with a colleague, we had a good laugh. Thanks! Keep on posting!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pork Sandwiches via Ranting Chef | The Vampire Diet - May 24, 2013

    […] This sounds amazing! http://rantingchef.com/2013/05/24/cooking-with-root-beer/ […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.