Maggie Monday: Crock Pot Apple Crisp

One of the best things about camping is making apple cobbler in a dutch oven over the campfire. For some reason, I don’t try to make it at home but after looking at Maggie’s Apple Crisp, I might just have to change that. Here’s Maggie… 

This is a Stephanie O’Dea recipe. It came across my Facebook feed and I gave it a try since I had a bag of apples that needed a comfort food home. I was skeptical about making this in the crock pot- mostly because, why? The prep for the dish is same regardless of where this is baked and apple crisp doesn’t take too long in the oven. The only advantage I could come up with is that the house might smell pretty awesome for 3 hours rather than 20 minutes. What the heck.

Stephanie’s recipes are all gluten-free, so I gluten-ed this up by adding flour and cinnamon to both the filling and topping. I like the thickened sauce that comes with the flour, and was surprised to see any apple crisp recipe that omitted cinnamon.

This was classic, comforting apple crisp. Due to the great seal on the lid of my crock pot there was not any wonderful baking apple crisp in the air all day. So, while the result was tasty, I see no reason to cook this in the crock-pot. Traditional way wins out in my book!

Apple crisp 1 copy - Featured Size

Crock Pot Apple Crisp

What you need:

Filling:

9 small apples- about 6 cups chopped

¼ cup cold butter, cubed

1/3 cup brown sugar

¼ cup flour

¼ cup orange juice

1 tsp cinnamon

Topping:

1 cup oats

½ cup cold butter, cubed

1/4 cup brown sugar

¼ flour

2 tsp cinnamon

What you do:

Preheat 2 quart crock pot on high and butter the inside. Peel, core and chop apples and plop them in the crock pot. Place cubed butter, brown sugar, flour, orange juice and cinnamon in the pot and toss. Combing ingredients for topping in a bowl and cut in butter with a pastry blender or a fork until crumbly. Pour over apples. Cover crock pot and let cook on high for about 3 hours or until apples are tender.

Crisp

Place the crock pot stoneware under the broiler on the lowest rack of the oven for 4-7 minutes, until golden brown and crisped.

Maggie

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Dessert 2, Fruit 2, Guest-Maggie, kosher, Recipes, Slow Cooker, Vegetarian

Author:The Ranting Chef

Check out the best recipes at rantingchef.com

4 Comments on “Maggie Monday: Crock Pot Apple Crisp”

  1. Lori M.
    March 24, 2014 at 11:41 am #

    I’ve done this many times, but never thought of browning it at the end. Also, I can’t do any baked apple dish without using ground cloves.

    Like

  2. Heartafire
    March 24, 2014 at 11:44 am #

    This recipe is going to the front of the “box”, it sounds delicious.

    Like

  3. March 24, 2014 at 12:47 pm #

    I’ve made this in my crock pot a bunch of times but have never browned it…Interesting twist!

    Like

  4. April 8, 2014 at 9:52 am #

    That’s a bit disappointing. And what recipe doesn’t include cinnamon? Weird.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.